State-Approved Medication Administration Courses for Adult Care Homes

In 2011, the North Carolina Legislature mandated training in addition to competency evaluation requirements for adult care home medication aides. As a response to the legislation, the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation, has developed the required 5-hour and 10-hour training courses that include instruction in the key principles of medication administration and infection prevention.

The department developed a 5-hour, 10-hour and 15-hour standardized training course to assist qualified instructors to train unlicensed staff who will administer medications to residents in Adult Care Homes. Each training course includes an instructor manual, materials for a student manual and a certificate template required for participants who successfully complete the course(s).

Course Description

The 5-hour, 10-hour and 15-hour training courses were adapted from the "Medication Administration: A Medication Aide Training Course" curriculum developed in 2006 by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services and the North Carolina Board of Nursing.

The 5-hour, 10-hour, and 15-hour competency-based curriculums provide unlicensed staff with basic knowledge and skills needed to ensure that medication administration is performed in a safe and effective manner.

Note: Individuals who have verification of employment as a Medication Aide within the previous 24 months and completed competency skills validation and passed the State written exam for Medication Aides in Adult Care Homes, may perform medication tasks without attending the 5 or 10 hour training program.