Training Resources

The Adult Care Licensure Section (ACLS) has state approved courses on infection control and medication aide training that are available for download. The section also offers training to adult care providers, county Departments of Social Services (DSS) staff and state survey staff. The types of training include basic orientation, complaint investigation training and 1068 training.

State Approved Infection Control Course for Adult Care Homes

This course is for infection control training of staff of all adult care homes and family care homes licensed in North Carolina (hereafter referred to as "adult care homes"). Information covered in the course should be incorporated in training provided by an appropriate licensed healthcare professional. Training may be divided into different sessions.

Session Law 2011-99 (House Bill 474) mandated infection prevention requirements for adult care homes. The requirements included completion of an infection control course by nonsupervisory staff designated to direct the facility's infection control activities, supervisors and medication aides of adult care homes. This course is the mandatory required course for infection control in adult care homes.

The sections of the course are:

All sections must be completed to receive 3 hours of continuing education credits. No partial credit is given.

The primary goal of this training is to promote a higher understanding of infection prevention and standard precautions for infection control and to reduce the occurrence and transmission of infections in adult care homes.

80-hour Personal Care Training for Personal Care Aides in Licensed Adult Care Homes & Family Care Homes


The Department created an updated electronic version of this training course in January 2022 which is to be used by instructors, effective March 1, 2022.

Changes to the training course were very minimal and mainly addressed outdated language and grammatical errors. No changes to course content were made.

Additionally, in response to advances in technology and the changing needs of today’s workforce, the Department has approved a plan for some training hours to be taught using virtual classrooms and some self-study hours. The Department’s approved distribution of training hours can be found in the introductory section of the curriculum manual.

This curriculum will provide personal care staff and those who directly supervise them information in providing care to residents in North Carolina’s licensed adult care homes and family care homes. This curriculum has been specifically designed to meet the 80-hour state requirement for personal care staff training. The course reflects the intent of the North Carolina General Assembly “to ensure that adult care homes and family care homes provide services that encourage every resident's quality of life, autonomy, privacy, independence, respect and dignity.” This training course was developed in accordance with North Carolina General Statute 131D-4.3 (a) (2) and the rules under, 10A NCAC 13F .0502 and 10A NCAC 13G .0502, to address the 80-hour training program content and approval and the required hours of training.

The 80-hour course contains content on practical knowledge and skills; cognitive, behavioral, social care; residents’ rights and safety; basic nursing skills; techniques for providing care and knowledge and concepts related to observation and documentation; a skills lab for more concentrated practice with special health related tasks and a supervised practical experience for in-depth practice of skills.

Instructors of the 80-hour personal care training for adult care home and family care home staff must be approved by the Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section prior to teaching the course.

Individuals interested in teaching the 80-hour course must meet the following minimum criteria to apply. Applicant instructors must:

  1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in North Carolina (unencumbered);
  2. Have at least two years of direct patient care with some mental health and/or geriatric experience; and
  3. Be able to demonstrate competency to teach adult students.

To apply, please complete the application on page 13 of the “Introduction to Teaching the 80-hour Personal Care Training Course” document and mail it to the DHSR  Adult Care Licensure Section, Attention: Training Department, 2708 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2708, along with the instructors’ resumes and a copy of the certificate to be issued to the students upon successful completion of the training. When certificates are issued, please make sure they indicate the total number of hours completed.

Questions about the 80-hour Personal Care Training Curriculum or about becoming a course instructor, please send an email to [email protected].


Health Care Personnel Registry Training

This webinar was developed as an overview of the N.C. Health Care Personnel Registry for ACLS consultants, county Department of Social Services (DSS) adult home specialists/supervisors, and licensed adult care/family care home providers. The program includes the role of the registry, reporting requirements for facilities under 10A NCAC 13F .1205 and 10A NCAC 13G .1206 and registry access related to employment prohibitions under 10A NCAC 13F .0407 and 10A NCAC 13G .0406.

Joint Training (formerly referred to as "1068 Training")

This training is only open to currently employed staff of adult care homes and family care homes as well as ACLS staff and county DSS staff who are involved in surveying/monitoring adult care homes.

In accordance with G.S. 143B-139.5B, joint training (formerly referred to as 1068 Training) is a state-mandated program. It requires the division to provide training twice per year for ACLS surveyors, county DSS adult home specialists and supervisors, and adult care providers (i.e., administrators, supervisors, medication aides, personal care assistants, and resident care coordinators). The content of the training is based on at least one of the 10 deficiencies cited most frequently by the State during the preceding calendar year. The primary goals of this workshop are to increase the level of understanding between providers and regulators and to reduce inconsistencies in the survey process.

To view the video recordings, you will be asked to download the Cisco WebEx plug-in. Just click on any of the video recordings to get the plug-in. Save the file on your desktop and run it. Then when you click on the videos, they will open in a new window. The videos are long so allow time for them to download. They will automatically start playing.

If you have any questions, please contact: [email protected].

Basic Orientation Training Workshop

The Adult Care Licensure Section (ACLS) offers Basic Orientation Training for new county department of social services (DSS) adult home specialists and their supervisors. The goal of Basic Orientation is to enhance the knowledge and skills of county DSS staff in the inspection and monitoring of adult care homes. The workshop covers medication management, food and nutrition, staff competency, health care, personal care and supervision, and licensed health professional support. The training also includes Principles of Documentation, monitoring protocol, and compliance tools.

Pre-registration for this training is required. Please contact ACLS training program staff at [email protected] for additional information.

Prior to attending the Basic Orientation Training Workshop, county DSS staff are required to complete the Pre-Basic Training Checklist. After Basic Orientation Training, county DSS staff are required to complete the Post-Basic Training Checklist through participation in state annual surveys. Both training checklists are on the DSS Resources SharePoint site. To schedule Post-Basic training, please contact your ACLS regional team supervisor.

Note: It is the responsibility of the County DSS to cover the cost of the associated travel and per diem expenses of the workshop for their staff.

Complaint Investigation Training Workshop

The ACLS offers Complaint Investigation Training for new county DSS staff after completion of the Basic Orientation Training Workshop. The goal of this training is to enhance the knowledge and skills of county DSS staff in investigating rule-based allegations in adult care homes. The workshop includes: intake and analysis; investigative planning; investigation procedures; and written documentation of findings.

Pre-registration for this training is required. Please contact ACLS training program staff at [email protected] for additional information.

Note: It is the responsibility of the County DSS to cover the cost of the associated travel and per diem expenses of the workshop for their staff.