Requirements for Establishing a Home Care Agency

Purpose: This procedure describes the steps to become a licensed home care agency. Each site providing home care services must be separately licensed. The North Carolina Medical Care Commission has rulemaking authority for home care. The statutes that apply to home care are North Carolina General Statutes 131E-135 through 142 and the rules are under Title 10A of the North Carolina Administrative Code (10A NCAC 13J).

Please be aware that there may be variations in the process since individual projects may have special circumstances. The flow chart is intended to be a general guide to aid the applicant in completing the overall project.

Contacts: For questions regarding any part of this process, please contact the appropriate section of the N.C. Division of Health Service Regulation:

Acute and Home Care Licensure & Certification Section 919-855-4620

LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS: An applicant must be able to complete all necessary requirements within one year (12 months) from receipt of the initial application and fee date to obtain a license. After initial licensure, the agency must have the license renewed every year.

Procedure Summary: Applicants for a home care agency may apply directly for licensure to the Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section.

Before you get started:

  1. Review the Initial Home Care Survey Checklist and use it as your guide. (PDF, 303 KB)
  2. Review the North Carolina rules governing the licensure of home care agencies.

    The primary reason home care licensure applicants are not approved for licensure is because they do not understand and/or comply with the initial survey checklist and/or NC licensure rules. It should be noted these are minimal requirements and failure to comply with them may result in delay of licensure for the applicant. Therefore, it is recommended that applicants be prepared for the initial survey in order to achieve the anticipated approval.

    If this office can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at 919-855-4620.


  1. Download and complete the licensure application. (PDF, 206 KB)
  2. Include the appropriate fee (Payment should be in the form of a check, money order or certified check and must be payable to the N.C. Division of Health Service Regulation).
  3. Include proof of previously owning and operating a home care agency OR include proof of completion of home care provider training.
  4. Mail the above to:
    Division of Health Service Regulation
    2712 Mail Service Center
    Raleigh, NC 27699-2712

Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section:

  1. The submitted license application packet will be reviewed for accuracy and completeness.
  2. An email will be sent to the applicant confirming receipt of the license application packet and fee.
  3. An email will be sent to the applicant requesting the policies, procedures, and personnel documents.
  4. Upon receipt of the requested policies, procedures, and personnel documents from the applicant:
    • An initial survey is conducted by reviewing the policies, procedures, and personnel documents for compliance with licensure requirements.
    • If the initial survey is completed without the need for additional information, an approval letter and license will be mailed to the applicant within 5-10 business days.
    • Upon receipt of the approval letter and license, you are licensed and ready to serve the citizens of N.C.