General Information

The purpose of the Commission is:

This twenty-one member Commission (11 voting public and 10 non-voting ex-officio) is appointed by the Governor and is empowered to promulgate rules to be followed in the administration of a radiation protection program. Through the active use of their committees, they advise the Department of Health and Human Services in the development of comprehensive policies and programs for the evaluation, determination, and reduction of hazards associated with the use of radiation.

Rule Actions

Periodic Review of Existing Rules

Contact Information

Mailing Address: 1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1645

Physical Address: 5505 Creedmoor Road, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27612

Telephone Number: 919-814-2250

Meeting Schedule

Dates Locations
February 26, 2021 Division of Health Service Regulation
801 Biggs Drive
Brown Building - Conference Room 104
Raleigh, N.C.
July 23, 2021 Division of Health Service Regulation
801 Biggs Drive
Brown Building - Conference Room 104
Raleigh, N.C.

The meetings begin at 10:00 a.m. If you have any questions about the meetings, please contact the N.C. Radiation Protection Commission at 919-814-2250.

Members of the North Carolina Radiation Protection Commission

The North Carolina Radiation Protection Commission has 21 members appointed by the Governor.

Voting Members
Carmine M. Plott, PhD, CHP, DABR, Chair State-At-Large
Roger Sit, PhD, CHP, Vice-Chair Scientist or Engineer from University Faculty
Graham T. Johnson, CHP Public Utility Generating Power by Atomic Energy
Holly J. Burge, M.D. N.C. Medical Society
Elizabeth M. Franklin, MS, DABMP, DABR  N.C. Society of Radiologic Technologist
Jerome Hightower, III, MS, DABMP, DABR Environmental Protection Field
Diana Hart, MS Experience in Atomic Energy Field Other Than Power Generation
John B. Ludlow, DDS, MS, FDSRCS Ed N.C. Dental Society
Paul Davis, D.C. N.C. Chiropractic Association
Robert E. Reiman, MD, MSPH Hospital Administrator
Patrick J. Dougherty, DPM N.C. Board of Podiatry Examiners
Ex-Officio Members
James C. Sawyer, P.E. N.C. Department of Transportation
James E. Geddie, PhD N.C. Department of Labor
Bryan A. Strickland N.C. Industrial Commission
Donna L. Davis N.C. Environmental Management Commission
W. Lee Cox, III DHSR/Radiation Protection
Catherine Eastwood N.C. Utilities Commission
Robert E. Schaaf, M.D., FACR N.C. Medical Care Commission
Alan Dale Huneycutt, REHS, MPH N.C. Commission for Public Health
Carl P. Martin, RA N.C. Department of Insurance
Michael A. Sprayberry N.C. Emergency Management