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10A NCAC 13P .0512 is adopted with changes as published in 30:24 NCR, pp. 2558-2606, as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED EMS CREDENTIAL 3 

(a)  EMS personnel that would be eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to expiration may submit 4 

documentation to the OEMS following expiration and receive a renewed EMS credential with an expiration date no 5 

more than four years from the date of their lapsed credential. enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing education 6 

program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter and that was eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to 7 

expiration, may request the EMS educational institution submit documentation of the continuing education record to 8 

the OEMS. OEMS shall renew the EMS credential to be valid for four years from the previous expiration date.  9 

(b)  An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is eligible for reinstatement through the legal 10 

recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section. 11 

(c)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 24 months, 12 

shall: 13 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; G.S. 131E-159(c);  14 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; 15 

(3) at the time of application, present evidence that renewal education requirements were met prior to 16 

expiration or complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following expiration of 17 

the credential; 18 

(4) EMR and EMT EMRs and EMTs shall complete an OEMS administered written examination for 19 

the individual’s level of credential application;  20 

(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and 21 

(6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or 22 

felony conviction(s). 23 

(d)  EMR and EMT applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 24 months, must: 24 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and G.S. 131E-159(c) 25 

and; 26 

(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section. 27 

(e)  AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed between 24 and 48 months, 28 

shall: 29 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; G.S. 131E-159(c); 30 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; 31 

(3) present evidence of completion of a refresher course at the level of application taken following 32 

expiration of the credential; 33 

(4) complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individuals level of credential 34 

application;  35 

(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and 36 
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(6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or 1 

felony conviction(s). 2 

(f)  AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 48 months, shall: 3 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and G.S. 131E-159(c) 4 

and; 5 

(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section. 6 

(g)  EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in 7 

Rule .0502 of this Section. 8 

(h)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue or renew an EMS credential for any person listed 9 

on the Department of Justice, Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of 10 

an offense that would have required registration if committed at a time when registration would have been required 11 

by law. 12 

 13 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952; 14 

Eff. January 1, 2017. 15 


