1	10A NCAC 13P .0512 is proposed for adoption as follows:
2	
3	10A NCAC 13P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED EMS CREDENTIAL
4	(a) EMS personnel that would be eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to expiration may submit
5	documentation to the OEMS following expiration and receive a renewed EMS credential with an expiration date no
6	more than four years from the date of their lapsed credential.
7	(b) An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is eligible for reinstatement through the legal
8	recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section.
9	(c) EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 24 months,
10	<u>shall:</u>
11	(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
12	(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider;
13	(3) at the time of application, present evidence that renewal education requirements were met prior to
14	expiration or complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following expiration of
15	the credential;
16	(4) EMR and EMT shall complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individual's
17	level of credential application;
18	(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and
19	(6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or
20	felony conviction(s).
21	(d) EMR and EMT applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 24 months, must:
22	(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and
23	(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section.
24	(e) AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed between 24 and 48 months,
25	<u>shall:</u>
26	(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
27	(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider;
28	(3) present evidence of completion of a refresher course at the level of application taken following
29	expiration of the credential;
30	(4) complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individuals level of credential
31	application;
32	(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and
33	(6) submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or
34	felony conviction(s).
35	(f) AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 48 months, shall:
36	(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and
37	(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section.

- 1 (g) EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in
- 2 Rule .0502 of this Section.
- 3 (h) Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue or renew an EMS credential for any person listed
- 4 <u>on the Department of Justice, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense that</u>
- 5 would have required registration if committed at a time when registration would have been required by law.

6

- 7 History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952;
- 8 <u>Eff. January 1, 2017.</u>