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Fiscal Impact Analysis for  
Permanent Rule Amendment and Adoptions with Substantial Economic Impact 

 

Agency:   North Carolina Radiation Protection Section 
 
Contact Persons: Lee Cox, Chief, Radiation Protection Section, lee.cox@dhhs.nc.gov  

Dr. Wayne Thomann, Chair, Non-Ionizing Committee, wayne.thomann@duke.edu   
Catherine Rosfjord, Manager, Tanning/Radon Branch, catherine.rosfjord@dhhs.nc.gov  
Andrea Kizer, Liaison, Non-Ionizing Committee Liaison, andrea.kizer@dhhs.nc.gov  
Nadine Pfeiffer, Rulemaking Coordinator, nadine.pfeiffer@dhhs.nc.gov 
  

Impact Summary:  State Government:  Yes 
Local Government  Yes 
Federal Government:  Yes 
Substantial Economic Impact:  Yes 

  
Statutory Authority:  G.S. § 104E-7(a)(7) 

G.S. § 104E-9.1 

 
Rule Citations:   10A NCAC 15 .1403 Definitions – Amend definition for “Agency”  

10A NCAC 15 .1414 Warning Signs Required – Amend language for Warning Signs  
10A NCAC 15 .1415 Equipment and Construction Requirements – Amend to include 

FDA label requirement 21 CFR 878, Part 878.4635 
10A NCAC 15 .1418 Records: Reports and Operating Requirements – Amend the legal 

tanning age  
10A NCAC 15 .1419 and .1423 – Amend to include updated physical address of agency 

 
Summary 
 
The agency is proposing amendments to its tanning salon rules to prohibit minors from using tanning facilities 
due to a recent statutory change, include federal requirements related to warning signs and labels, and make 
minor changes. The agency estimates that salons would incur $63,000 as a one-time cost to adhere to the 
federal and state requirements. The age restriction on tanning would likely lead to losses for the salons, local, 
state and federal government. However, minors and their families would save the same amount in tanning 
fees and divert it to other spending, as well as potentially incur healthcare cost savings avoided loss of 
productivity due to a lower exposure to ultraviolet radiation, labeled by a US DHHS as a known human 
carcinogen.1  Table 1 presents a summary of impacts. 
  
Table 1: Costs and Benefits by Affected Party for Ban on Underage Tanning (NPV for Fiscal Years 2016-2020) 

 Cost Benefit 

Registrants $12,554,000 $0 

Local Government $277,000 $16,000 

State Government $658,000 $0 

Tanners $0 $13,844,000 

Federal Government $432,000 $0 

Total $13,920,000 $13,860,000 

                                                           
1 National Toxicology Program. “Report on Carcinogens, Thirteenth Edition.” 2014. Research Triangle Park, NC: U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service.  http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/roc13/  
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Background 

 
NC Tanning Regulations: The Radiation Protection Section (RPS) is responsible for enforcing rules pertaining to 
tanning facilities in 10A NCAC 15 .1400.  This authority is obtained from the North Carolina Radiation Protection 
Act (G.S. 104E) which established the Radiation Protection Commission with the powers to “…provide by rule 
and regulation for an electronic product safety program to protect the public health and safety, which program 
may authorize regulation and inspection for sources of non-ionizing radiation throughout the state”.  Ultraviolet 
(UV) lamps used for tanning are a source of non-ionizing radiation. The NC Radiation Protection Commission 
initially adopted rules for protection against radiation associated with tanning facilities effective June 1, 1989.   
 
Changes in NC Laws Regarding Tanning:  On May 21, 2015, The Jim Fulghum Teen Skin Cancer Prevention Act 
was signed into law.  This law amends G.S. 104E-9.1(a)(2) to read:   
 

“ (2) The operator shall not allow a person 13 years and younger under 18 years of age to use tanning 
equipment without a written prescription from the 16 person's medical physician specifying the nature of 
the medical condition 17 requiring the treatment, the number of visits, and the time of exposure for 18 
each visit.equipment.” 

 
10A NCAC 15 .1418 currently allows for underage tanning with a doctor’s prescription or parental consent.  These 
allowances must be removed in order for the rule to be compliance with G.S. 104E-9.1(a)(2). 
 
 
FDA Tanning Regulations: The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulates electronic products, including 
sunlamp products and UV lamps intended for use in sunlamp products, under chapter 5, subchapter C of the 
FD&C Act (21U.S.C. 360hh et seq.). Under these provisions, FDA administers an electronic product radiation 
control program to protect the public health and safety. Sunlamp products and UV lamps intended for use in 
sunlamp products are subject to the regulations for electronic product radiation control, including 21 CFR parts 
1000 through 1010 and § 1040.20 (21 CFR 1040.20). The sunlamp products and UV lamps intended for use in 
sunlamp products performance standard in § 1040.20 was originally published in the Federal Register on 
November 9, 1979 (44 FR 65352). FDA has made amendments to this performance standard to reflect current 
scientific knowledge related to sunlamp product and UV lamp use, harmonize it more closely with 
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) International Standard 60335-2-27, Ed. 5.0: 2009-12, and 
strengthen the warning statement required by § 1040.20(d)(1)(i), in accordance with the results of the study 
FDA conducted under section 230 of the Food and Drug Administration Amendments Act of 2007.   
 
Effective September 2, 2014, FDA reclassified UV lamps intended to tan the skin from class I (general controls) 
exempt from premarket notification to class II (special controls) and subject to premarket notification. By 
August 26, 2015 the FDA will require  all individual sunlamp products that have been shipped to operators or 
users such as tanning facilities and individual consumers prior to September 2, 2014 must comply with the 
labeling special controls at 21 CFR 878.4635(b)(6)(i)(A). If the manufacturer is no longer in business, sunlamp 
product owners would have to apply the required labeling.  21 CFR 878.4635(b)(6) states: 

 
“Labeling must bear all information required for the reasonable assurance of safe and effective use of the 
device.  
(i) The warning statement below must appear on all sunlamp product fixtures. This statement must be 
permanently affixed or inscribed on the product when fully assembled for use so as to be legible and 
readily accessible to view by the person who will be exposed to UV radiation immediately before the use 
of the product. It shall be of sufficient durability to remain legible throughout the expected lifetime of the 
product. It shall appear on a part or panel displayed prominently under normal conditions of use so that it 
is readily accessible to view whether the tanning bed canopy (or tanning booth door) is open or closed 
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when the person who will be exposed approaches the equipment and the text shall be at least 10 
millimeters (height). Labeling on the device must include the following statement:  
 
"Attention: This sunlamp product should not be used on persons under the age of 18 years."  
 
(ii) Manufacturers of sunlamp products shall provide or cause to be provided in the user instructions for a 
sunlamp product as well as all catalogs, specification sheets, and descriptive brochures intended for 
consumers in which sunlamp products are offered for sale, and on all consumer-directed webpages on 
which sunlamp products are offered for sale, the following contraindication and warning statements: 
(A) "Contraindication: This sunlamp product is contraindicated for use on persons under the age of 18 
years."  
(B) "Contraindication: This sunlamp product must not be used if skin lesions or open wounds are present."  
(C) "Warning: This sunlamp product should not be used on individuals who have had skin cancer or have a 
family history of skin cancer."  
(D) "Warning: Persons repeatedly exposed to ultraviolet sunlamp products should be regularly evaluated 
for skin cancer."  
(iii) Manufacturers of sunlamp products shall provide validated instructions on cleaning and disinfection 
of sunlamp products between uses in the user instructions.  
(c) Sunlamp products are subject to the electronic product performance standard at § 1040.20 of this 
chapter.  
"Attention: This sunlamp product should not be used on persons under the age of 18 years."” 

 
The Radiation Protection Section does not have the authority to enforce the FDA label requirements outlined 
above without adopting a rule which includes 21 CFR 878.4635(b)(6)(i)(A), which is being proposed to be added 
to rule 10 A NCAC 15 .1415. 
 
Because the FDA label states that the sunlamp product “should not” be used on persons under 18 and the NC 
law now states that persons under 18 “shall not” use sunlamp products, the FDA label on the bed was deemed 
too permissive.  Therefore, rule .1415 was further amended to include an additional label which would state:  
 

“North Carolina state law prohibits the use of this device by persons under 18 years of age”. 
 

 
The Non-ionizing Committee to the Radiation Protection Commission discussed the rules and promulgated the 
rule amendments. The members of the committee made additional changes to rule 10A NCAC 15 .1414 by 
adding language to the Warning Sign and Warning Statement, which must be posted in rooms and signed by 
tanning consumers, that  includes the language from the FDA regulation above. 

 
 
Anticipated Fiscal Impact 
These rule changes address four issues. One is regarding changing the language on Warning Signs and Consumer 
Statements to align with FDA language.  The second is affixing warning labels to tanning beds, as required by 
FDA rules.  The third is a revised address and definition.  The fourth is regarding prohibiting anyone under the 
age of 18 from using tanning beds, as is now NC law. Each of the anticipated fiscal impacts will be discussed 
separately below.  Only the fourth rule change, prohibiting minors from tanning, is expected to have a substantial 
fiscal impact.  An in-depth economic analysis, two alternatives, and uncertainties will be discussed for the final 
rule change. 
 

1. Warning Sign and Consumer Statement Language 

The change in Warning Sign and Consumer Statement language would have minimal costs for salon owners.  
Warning Signs and Consumer Statements, when not provided by RPS, can all be printed on regular 8.5” x 11” 
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paper. To print new consumer statements and signs would cost no more than $5.00 per facility.  Tanning 
facility registrants number approximately 1,100 in North Carolina.  1,100 facilities x $5 = $5,500. 
 
Consumer Statements and Warning Signs are currently printed and sent to new facilities when registered.  
The documents are also currently checked during inspections for proper language and this new requirement 
will not take inspectors any additional time to document, as they are already checked. 

 
2. Warning Labels 
The rule amendments would require registrants to affix two new labels to each of their tanning units.  
Tanning facility registrants number approximately 1,100 in North Carolina. There are 5,706 tanning units 
according to the Tanning registration database maintained by RPS registered in the state.  The labels are 
estimated to cost $5.00 or less.  The estimated total costs for all tanning units in the state for these labels is 
$57,000.  

 
Currently, there are 5 labels on the bed which much be checked at the time of inspection to ensure they are 
present and legible.  The additional labels would only represent a few moments more the RPS inspectors 
would need to spend checking the bed.   
 
3. Definition of Agency and Address Change:   
Due to a change in Department, the definition of “Agency” needed to be updated in rule .1403.  Due to a 
physical change in address, rules .1419 and .1423 need to be updated. 
There would be no fiscal impact created by these rule amendments. 

 
4. Prohibition of Minor Tanning 
This section of the fiscal note discusses the economic impact the rule change related to the ban on minors 
tanning would have on Registrants (Tanning Facilities), State Government, Tanners, and Federal and Local 
Governments (where applicable). 
 

Registrants: 

 Costs:  
1. Loss of Business  

According to the American Association of Dermatology, 30 million people tan indoors in 
the U.S. annually. Of these, 2.3 million (or about 7.7%) are teens.2  Some of these teens 
will be 18 or 19 and are of legal tanning age under latest NC statutory change.  We will 
assume 50% of teen tanners are under 18.  This is a reasonable estimate based on a study 
of more than 10,000 boys and girls aged 12-18, where tanning increased from 7% among 
12 year olds to more than 14% among 14 year olds and more than doubled again by age 17 
to 36%.3  If we assume 50% of teen tanners are under 18, it represents approximately 3.8% 
of clientele for tanning salons.   
 

                                                           
2 American Academy of Dermatology website. Danger of Indoor Tanning. https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-
and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning 
 
3 Brewer, Jerry, Donna Mcquinn, Christine Lohse, and John Hassani. 2015. “Tanning Bed Perception Survey: A 
Questionnaire-based Study.” The Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, 2015 March, 8 (3): 23-27. 
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4382142/  
 

https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4382142/
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According to data for North Carolina from the Census Bureau, the tanning industry in NC 
generated approximately $33,400,000 in revenue in 2007.4  According to another source, 
the sale of tanning related products in North Carolina should be approximately 
$62,700,000 annually (about $57,000 in sales per year for each of the 1,100 facilities in 
NC).5   However, because we believe that the tanning industry is shrinking, we found the 
average yearly growth rate for the tanning industry in the United States from 2007 to 2012 
(roughly -1.8% per year) and used this to find the size of the industry in in years 2016-
2020.6  Therefore, 3.8% loss of business would result in an expected loss of $1,087,000 for 
tanning fees (3.8% loss from estimated NC facilities’ total of $28,367,000 in tanning fees) 
and a $2,405,000 loss in product sales for the first fiscal year the proposed rule is in effect.  
These two estimates include sales taxes the facilities would have to pay.  Table 2 shows 
the anticipated loss in annual revenue for registrants due to the ban and the loss after 
taxes of 2% at the local level, 4.75% at the state level, and 10% at the federal level have 
been taken into account.   
 
Table 2. Anticipated Loss in Annual Revenue for Tanning in NC Due to Restrictions on 
Under 18 Tanning 
Actual Loss when Federal, State, and Local Taxes Are Taken Into Account  
  

  FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020 

Loss in Product 
Sales after Taxes $2,243,000  $2,202,000  $2,162,000  $2,123,000  $2,084,000  

Loss in Tanning 
Fees after Taxes $905,000  $889,000  $872,000  $857,000   $842,000  

Total Loss after 
Taxes $3,148,000  $3,091,000  $3,034,000  $2,980,000   $2,926,000  

 
 

2. Value of Time Lost Due to Verifying Clientele under 18 Years of Age 
The additional time required to check ID would be insignificant.  Salon operators are 
already required to do paperwork with new clients and this would only add a few extra 
seconds. 
 

3. Penalties Due to Lack of Compliance with Ban on Underage Tanning 
Some facilities will be cited a violation for allowing underage tanning and subsequently be 
penalized.  Due to the nature of enforcing this rule, we do not expect to cite many 
violations or to penalize many facilities.  A good estimate, based on the Section’s 
experience, is penalizing 2 facilities/year approximately $2,000, which would result in a 
total of $4,000/year loss to tanning facilities. 

 
  

                                                           
4 US Census Bureau. Factfinder. 2007 US and NC Economic Census and 2012 US Economic Census, Product and Services 
Code 32251 http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml  
 
5 http://www.smallbusinesspoint.com/tan.pdf 
 
6 US Census Bureau. Factfinder. 2007 US and NC Economic Census and 2012 US Economic Census, Product and Services 
Code 32251 http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml  

http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
http://www.smallbusinesspoint.com/tan.pdf
http://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
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Federal/State/Local Government: 

 Costs: 
1. Increased Time for Inspections and Enforcement 

The additional time it would take inspectors to verify that facilities are not allowing 
underage tanning will essentially consist of the inspector asking the operator how he/she 
ensures that clients are of legal tanning age.  This one question would have very little 
impact on the time it takes to conduct an inspection and therefore would not be a 
significant cost. 
 

2. Decrease in Federal/State/Local Government Tax Revenue 
Using the expected loss in revenue for tanning salons in N.C. (computed in Costs for 
Registrants above), the loss in federal, state, local sales tax revenue can be calculated.  
Table 3 calculates loss in tax revenue using the 10% federal excise tax, 4.75% state tax, and 
2.0% local tax rate.  Note that the 10% federal excise tax is only on the tanning services 
and not on the sale of products associated with tanning.   
 
Table 3. Loss in Tax Revenue Resulting from Under 18 Ban on Tanning 

  FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020 

Loss of Federal 
Taxes  $109,000   $107,000   $105,000   $103,000   $101,000  

Loss of State Taxes  $166,000   $163,000   $160,000   $157,000   $154,000  

Loss of Local  
Taxes  $70,000   $69,000   $67,000   $66,000   $65,000  

Total Loss of  
Taxes  $345,000   $339,000   $332,000   $326,000   $320,000  

 
 

 Benefits: 
1. Health Care Dollars Saved  

It is possible that the federal and state governments might see some decrease in the 
health care spending to the extent this measure avoids any skin cancers occurrences or 
minimizes their severity in cases where the government would have to pay for healthcare 
treatments.  Since we cannot predict what the savings in health care would be due to this 
ban, we are unable to quantify how much money local, state, or federal government 
would save in healthcare expenses. 
  

2. Possible Increase in Penalties 
Increase in penalties would be minimal.  This rule change, as written, would be very 
difficult to enforce.  Facilities are not required to photocopy ID or document DOB on client 
records.  Unless an inspector is at the facility while an operator allows a minor to tan, or a 
parent comes forward and say that there child was allowed to tan, RPS would have no way 
of verifying that a facility is allowing underage tanning.  Therefore, this rule change would 
likely only result in one or two additional penalties per year.  Average penalty amounts are 
$2,000, and go to the school system of the county where the facility is located; therefore, 
the expected additional revenue to local government is $4,000 per year. 
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Tanners: 

 Costs: 
1. Avoided Benefit of Tanning Bed Service 

The ban would probably result in a perceived loss by minors who regard a UV tanning bed 
as their preferred method and are willing to pay more for it than any other form of 
tanning.  Some of this loss would probably be offset by using other tanning methods.  
Given the idiosyncratic nature of this cost, it is difficult to estimate it.  

 

 Benefits: 
1. Save money on tanning and tanning products 

If we assume that minors who are banned from UV tanning beds opt to save their money, 
they would save approximately $1,087,000 in the first year on tanning and $2,405,000 
annually on tanning products. 
 
Table 4. Cost Savings for Minors and their Families 

Families of 
Minors  FY2016   FY2017   FY2018   FY2019   FY2020  

Tanning Fees 
Savings $1,087,000  $1,068,000  $1,048,000  $1,029,000  $1,011,000  

Tanning Products 
Savings $2,405,000  $2,361,000  $2,319,000  $2,277,000  $2,235,000  

Total Family 
Savings $3,492,000  $3,429,000  $3,367,000  $3,306,000  $3,246,000  

 
2. Healthcare Cost Savings  

Both the US Department of Health and Human Services and the World Health Organization 
have stated that UV radiation for tanning beds is a carcinogen.  Studies have shown that 
exposure to UV tanning can lead to increased risk of melanoma and non-melanoma skin 
cancers. 7  More than 400,000 skin cancer cases annually have been linked to indoor 
tanning, out of which more than 6,000 were melanomas, or about 1.5%.8,9  Additional 
research has shown that there is a 59% increase in risk of melanoma for those who have 
been exposed to tanning beds, regardless of whether the individual shows signs of a burn 
after exposure or not; and those who first use a tanning bed before they are 35 increase 
their risk of melanoma by 75%. 10,11   Moreover, one indoor UV tanning session increases 

                                                           
7 American Academy of Dermatology website. Danger of Indoor Tanning. https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-
and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning 
 
8 Wehner MR, Chren M, Nameth D, et al. International Prevalence of Indoor Tanning: A Systematic Review and Meta-
analysis. JAMA Dermatol, 2014, 150(4):390-400. http://archderm.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1818976  
 
9 Skin Cancer Foundation website. Skin Cancer Facts. http://www.skincancer.org/skin-cancer-information/skin-cancer-
facts#indoor  
10 American Academy of Dermatology website. Danger of Indoor Tanning. https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-
and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning 
 
11 Lazovich D, Vogel RI, Berwick M, Weinstock MA, Anderson KE, Warshaw EM. Indoor tanning and risk of melanoma: a 
case-control study in a highly-exposed population. Cancer Epidem Biomar Prev 2010 June; 19(6):1557-1568. 
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20507845  
 

https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
http://archderm.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1818976
http://www.skincancer.org/skin-cancer-information/skin-cancer-facts#indoor
http://www.skincancer.org/skin-cancer-information/skin-cancer-facts#indoor
https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
https://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/dangers-of-indoor-tanning
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20507845
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the risk of developing squamous cell carcinoma by 67% and basal cell carcinoma by 29%, 
and risk of these types of cancers can be increase dramatically if an individual tans six 
times per year in high school.12,13   
 
There is a possibility that as a result of the statutory change and the proposed rule savings 
of health care costs would be incurred from decreasing the risk of cancerous lesions and 
melanomas.  A study estimated that between 2007 and 2011, an average of about 4.9 
million adults were treated for skin cancer annually, with average treatment costs of $8.1 
billion each year.  Of the $8.1 billion a year, $4.8 billion is for the treatment of non-
melanoma skin cancers and $3.3 billion for melanoma with average costs of $1,100 for 
non-melanoma cases and $4,800 for melanoma cases.14  Additionally, a 2006 estimated 
that the loss of productivity annually as a result of melanoma cases was a total of $2.85 
billion.15 
 
A determination of the avoided healthcare costs that would result from the rule change is 
difficult because there is no data on the number of different types of cancer cases that 
such a policy would avoid, decrease the severity of, or postpone.  It is unclear whether 
minor, as a result of not being allowed to use UV tanning, would avoid picking up the habit 
of indoor tanning or if they would simply postpone tanning until they become of age.  An 
additional complication is the compliance is likely to be less than 100% given the 
enforcement issue noted above.  Given all this, while research shows clear benefits from 
not being exposed to UV tanning beds, there is not sufficient information and data to 
estimate the avoided healthcare costs and productivity losses.  
 

 
  

                                                           
12 Wehner MR, Chren M, Nameth D, et al. International Prevalence of Indoor Tanning: A Systematic Review and Meta-
analysis.JAMA Dermatol. 2014. http://archderm.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1818976  
 
13 Zhang M, Qureshi AA, Geller AC, Frazier L, Hunter DJ, Han J. Use of tanning beds and incidence of skin cancer. J Clin 
Oncol 2012; 30(14):1588-93.  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22370316  
 
14 Guy GP, Machlin SR, Ekwueme DU, Yabroff KR. Prevalence and costs of skin cancer treatment in the U.S., 2002-2006 
and 2007-2011. Am J Prev Med 2014; 104(4):e69-e74  
 
15 Wickenheiser MR, Bordeaux JS, Robinson JK. Melanoma screening by physicians: time for a policy change in the United 
States. JAMA Dermatol 2014; 150(10):1045-1046. 
http://www.researchgate.net/publication/265343577_Melanoma_Screening_by_Physicians  

http://archderm.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1818976
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22370316
http://www.researchgate.net/publication/265343577_Melanoma_Screening_by_Physicians_Time_for_a_Policy_Change_in_the_United_States
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Table 5. Quantifiable Expected Costs Resulting from Changes in Tanning Rules for Five Year Period 
 

  FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020 

COSTS           

Tanning Facilities           

Warning Signs $6,000     

Warning Labels $57,000     

Penalties Paid $4,000 $4,000 $4,000   $4,000   $4,000  

Loss in Product Sales  $2,243,000   $2,202,000  $2,162,000   $2,123,000   $2,084,000  

Loss in Tanning Fees $905,000   $889,000   $873,000   $857,000   $  841,000  

Total Tanning Facilities $3,215,000   $3,095,000   $3,039,000   $2,984,000   $2,929,000  

NPV1  $12,554,000          
            

Federal Government           

Loss of Tax Revenues  $109,000   $107,000   $105,000   $103,000   $101,000  

NPV1  $432,000          
            

State Government           

Loss in Tax Revenue  $166,000   $163,000   $160,000   $157,000   $154,000  

NPV1  $658,000          
            

Local Government           

Loss in Tax Revenue 
From Tanning Fees  $70,000   $69,000   $67,000   $66,000   $65,000  

NPV1  $277,000          
            

TOTAL COST  $3,560,000   $3,434,000   $3,371,000   $3,310,000   $3,249,000  

NPV1 of Costs  $13,920,000          

            

BENEFITS           

Families of Minors           

Tanning Fees Savings  $1,087,000   $1,068,000   $1,048,000   $1,029,000   $1,011,000  

Tanning Products Savings  $2,405,000   $2,361,000   $2,319,000   $2,277,000   $2,235,000  

NPV1 of Health Savings Unquantified     

Total Family Savings  $3,492,000   $3,429,000   $3,367,000   $3,306,000   $3,246,000  

NPV1  $13,844,000          
            

Government           

Penalties Collected (Local 
Gov’t only)  $4,000   $4,000   $4,000   $4,000   $4,000  

NPV1 of Health Savings Unquantified     

NPV1  $16,000          
            

TOTAL BENEFITS  $3,496,000  $3,433,000   $3,371,000   $3,310,000   $3,250,000  

NPV1 of Benefits  $13,860,000         

            

TOTAL Impact  $7,056,000  $6,867,000   $6,742,000   $6,620,000   $6,499,000  

Net Impact  $(64,000)  $ (1,000)  $ -     $ -     $1,000  
1 NPV stands for Net Present Value and is computed as of July 1, 2015 using the statutorily mandated 7% discount rate 
(NCGS 150B-21.4(b1)).  

 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_150B/GS_150B-21.4.html
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Alternatives  
Two alternatives will be presented.   
 

Alternative 1: Require registrants to make photocopy of every client’s ID and keep on file 

The first alternative requires tanning facilities to make a photocopy of valid ID (rather than just check ID) 

and keep the photocopy on file for two years.  This is considered a more rigorous process for facilities 

which could potentially further decrease number of people tanning, thereby decreasing revenue for 

tanning facilities, saving more money for tanners, decreasing skin cancers and health care dollars spent, 

potentially decreasing state revenue from registration fees if facilities close or downsize, and decreasing 

state and federal tax revenue from tanning.  However, this additional requirement is seen as being 

somewhat onerous for facility owners who are following the rules, in terms of opportunity loss and 

copying costs, while not entirely preventing underage tanning.  If non-compliant facilities decide that they 

are going to allow underage tanning, they simply will not photocopy the ID and thereby not have a record 

of underage tanning at the facility.  While requiring a photocopy of the ID may prevent a slightly greater 

number of underage tanners in facilities, it does not make the law more enforceable.   

 

Registrants: 

 Costs:  
1. Increased Costs due to Photocopying 

Using the average wage and compensation of someone in the service industry ($14.48/hr)16  
for one minute, the expected costs of photocopying ($0.25)17 and the 300,000 NC tanners, 
there would be an additional one-time cost of $147,000 to photocopy the ID of all the 
current tanners, plus an additional $6,000 a year for new teen tanners (assuming that the 
number of new teen tanners is roughly constant). 
 
Table 6. Additional Costs to Registrants by Requiring Photocopying of Client ID 

 FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020 

Costs  $154,000   $6,000   $6,000   $6,000   $6,000  

 
2. Under this type of rule, there could be a possible decrease in the tanning industry revenue 

due to some clients no longer tanning to avoid having their license photocopied.  
 

Government: 

 Costs: 
1. Increased Inspection Time 

By forcing companies to make a photocopy of each individual consumer’s license, this 
alternative would create the ability to examine records and make sure that facilities are 
not allowing minors to tan.  This could lead to increases in inspection times if the 
inspectors decide to examine records, creating an opportunity cost for all the extra time 
spent on examining records. The extra few minutes spent during inspection could 
potentially slow the number of inspections down that can occur over the course of a year 
and there is an opportunity cost associated with the inspector’s time.  Currently, 
inspectors collectively conduct about 450 inspections/year.  At an average total 

                                                           
16 http://www.bls.gov/news.release/ecec.t05.htm 
17 http://www.staples.com/sbd/content/copyandprint/copiesanddocuments.html 

http://www.bls.gov/news.release/ecec.t05.htm
http://www.staples.com/sbd/content/copyandprint/copiesanddocuments.html
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compensation rate of $59,980, including salary and benefits, the value of the additional 
time needed by inspector is estimated at about $2,000 a year, assuming no more than 10 
additional minutes per inspection. 
 

 Benefits: 
1. Increased compliance in restricting underage tanning due to more rigorous verification 

process, leading to potentially higher health cost savings. 
 
Tanners: 

 Benefits: 
1. Decrease in Money spent on Tanning 

Owners and employees of tanning facilities should be more likely to prohibit underage 
tanners if they have to make a photocopy of the minors’ licenses; therefore, minors 
would save money on tanning.   

2. Avoided healthcare costs associated with a decrease in cancer incident due to more 
rigorous implementation of underage ban on tanning. 

 
 

Alternative 2: Do Not Change Rule .1418 (d) to be in Compliance with G.S. 104E-9.1(a)(2)   
 
The second alternative is to not change the rule to be in compliance with the general statute, effectively not 
enforcing the ban on minor tanning.  This is considered a less rigorous process for tanning facilities than having 
to check ID.  It is assumed that underage tanning would still decrease, but not as substantially as if the rule is 
changed as proposed to be in compliance with the law.  This alternative could potentially result in less of a 
decrease in tanning clients, less of a decrease in facility revenue, less savings for tanners, less of a decrease in 
skin cancers and health dollars saved, less of a decrease in state revenue from registration fees, and less 
decrease in state and federal tax revenue than was estimated for the fiscal impact above.  Costs and benefits 
by affected party will be discussed for each alternative.  Costs and benefits are only noted in how they differ 
from what was discussed in previous section. 
 

Registrants: 

 Costs:  
1. Not changing Rule .1418 (d) would have several unquantifiable costs that should be avoided.  

These include the value of lost time due to the confusion over whether or not to allow 
minors to tan and the possibility for facilities not to comply would eliminate a portion of the 
savings experienced by tanners related to money saved and expected health care costs 
avoided.  Additionally this discrepancy may rise questions about the ethicality and safety of 
the tanning industry.   

 Benefits:  
1. Not changing Rule .1418 (d) would create the ability for tanning facilities to ignore the ban 

and to let minors under 18 to continue to use indoor tanning.  This would result in some 
facilities not experiencing the expected loss to tanning fees and product losses. 

 
Government: 

 Costs: 
1. Not changing Rule .1418 (d) would weaken the legitimacy of DHHS and North Carolina 

Radiation Protection Section’s control over the tanning industry. 
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2. The state may have opportunity costs of staff time related to increased complaints and 
investigation requests from parents of minors and competitors regarding facilities which 
are still allowing underage tanning. 

 Benefits: 
1. If facilities do not comply and continue to allow minors under 18 to use indoor tanning, 

state, local and federal government would not lose as much tax revenue tied to the 
services and product sales. 

 
 
Tanners: 

 Costs: 
1. If minors still tan illegally, they would still spend money on tanning and tanning products 

possibly closer to current levels and higher than under the proposed rule change. 
2. Health care costs related to skin cancer occurrences attributable to indoor tanning would 

stay at current level, and possibly be higher than under the proposed rule change. 
 

Uncertainties 

1. In this analysis we made an assumption that 50% of teen tanners would be banned from using 

tanning beds, that is that half of tanners age 14-19 are age 14-17.  While the number of teens that 

are 14-17 account for more than 50% of teens age 14-19, closer to 65%, we do not believe that 

there is an equal share of indoor tanning among teens.18  Below is a table showing how the impact 

might change if the percentage of teen tanners banned from the market differs from 50%. 

 

Table 7. Sensitivity Analysis for the Portion of Teenage Tanners Under 18 

Percentage of 
Teen Tanners 

Age 14-17 NPV of Costs NPV of Benefits 

20%  $5,612,000   $5,554,000  

25%  $6,997,000   $6,938,000  

30%  $8,381,000   $8,323,000  

35%  $9,765,000   $9,707,000  

40%  $11,150,000   $11,091,000  

45%  $12,534,000   $12,476,000  

50%  $13,920,000   $13,860,000  

55%  $15,303,000   $15,244,000  

60%  $16,687,000   $16,629,000  

65%  $18,072,000   $18,013,000  

70%  $19,456,000   $19,398,000  

 

 

                                                           
18 OSBM website. Population Estimates. North Carolina Population by Age (Single Age), 2010-2019. 
http://www.osbm.state.nc.us/ncosbm/facts_and_figures/socioeconomic_data/population_estimates/demog/statesingle
age_2010_2019.html  

http://www.osbm.state.nc.us/ncosbm/facts_and_figures/socioeconomic_data/population_estimates/demog/statesingleage_2010_2019.html
http://www.osbm.state.nc.us/ncosbm/facts_and_figures/socioeconomic_data/population_estimates/demog/statesingleage_2010_2019.html
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2. We assumed that the tanning industry would grow at the same yearly rate that it did from 2007 to 

2012 in the US.  Though this is a reasonable way to look at expected future cost without knowing 

how exactly the tanning industry’s size would change, actual costs and benefits would differ 

depending on how the tanning industry actual grows.  Below is a sensitivity analysis for the costs 

and benefits depending on different increases or decreases in the tanning industry’s size.  Note 

that 98% would be a 2% decrease in the tanning industry while 102% would be 2% growth. 

 

Table 8. Sensitivity Analysis for the Growth in the Tanning Industry 

Growth NPV Costs NPV Benefits 

95.00%  $     12,324,000   $     12,250,000  

96.00%  $     12,802,000   $     12,728,000  

97.00%  $     13,299,000   $     13,225,000  

98.00%  $     13,816,000   $     13,742,000  

98.19%  $     13,920,000   $     13,860,000  

99.00%  $     14,353,000   $     14,279,000  

100.00%  $     14,912,000   $     14,837,000  

101.00%  $     15,492,000   $     15,417,000  

102.00%  $     16,095,000   $     16,020,000  

 
 

 
3. A major assumption used in these calculations is the amount of products sold in North Carolina’s 

tanning industry.  The numbers used were found on a business proposal for a tanning salon.  We 
believe that these sales numbers could be close and that it was important to include the amount 
of loss revenue from the expected decrease in product sales, however we do recognize that these 
numbers could be off for a few reasons.  First, it is based on information derived from a single 
source and it is uncertain whether NC tanning salons can in fact average $57,000 per year in 
product sales.  It is likely that the revenue loss from product sales is smaller than estimated.  
Second, it is reasonable to assume that minors who desire a tan and can no longer use UV tanning 
beds legally would begin using spray tanning instead since there are no restrictions placed on this 
type of tanning.  Many indoor tanning salons currently offer this option.  All loss in revenue due to 
the under 18 ban could potentially be recouped by spray tanning.  Given all the uncertainties and 
the lack of data on this matter, these benefits cannot be quantified, but it is very likely that the 
estimate of loss in product sales below would be partially offset.  Below is a sensitivity analysis for 
different levels of product sales. 

 
Table 9. Sensitivity Analysis for the Actual Loss in Product Sales 

 

Actual Loss 
from Tanning 
Products 

NPV Costs NPV Benefits 

 $           601,250   $       6,771,000   $       6,710,000  

 $       1,202,500   $       9,155,000   $       9,093,000  

 $       1,803,750   $     11,538,000   $     11,477,000  
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 $       2,405,000   $     13,920,000   $     13,860,000  

 $       3,006,250   $     16,305,000   $     16,243,000  

 $       3,607,500   $     18,688,000   $     18,627,000  

 $       4,208,750   $     21,071,000   $     21,010,000  

 $       4,810,000   $     23,455,000   $     23,393,000  

 

4. Another assumption made is that there is 100% compliance with the change in rules.  It is not 

certain that all teen age 14-17 would be stopped from partaking in the industry, due to multiple 

reasons.  These reasons would include mostly improperly trained owners and staff and or 

lackadaisical enforcement by the owners and staff.  Because it is not safe to assume that the rules 

would be followed completely, below is a table that has the effects on costs and benefits assuming 

different compliance levels.  Additionally, Alternative 2, where the tanning ban for minors is not 

enforced would result in less than 100% compliance. 

 

Table 10. Sensitivity Analysis of Compliance with the Rule Change 

 

Compliance NPV of Costs NPV of Benefits 

50%  $       6,997,000   $       6,938,000  

60%  $       8,381,000   $       8,323,000  

70%  $       9,765,000   $       9,707,000  

80%  $     11,150,000   $     11,091,000  

90%  $     12,534,000   $     12,476,000  

100%  $     13,920,000   $     13,860,000  

 

 

5. Since we cannot answer the question of how many minors the ban would truly prevent from 

tanning or when their healthcare saving would occur, it is hard to come up with an estimate for 

the amount of health care costs saved.  Some minors banned from indoor tanning may just 

postpone indoor tanning until they are 18 or increase outdoor tanning, negating some of the 

expected healthcare savings.  Additionally, any benefits resulting from not partaking in indoor 

tanning would most likely not be realized until 30-40 years from now.  Banning minors from indoor 

tanning would result in benefits through avoiding healthcare costs, but because of all the 

uncertainty, it is hard to tell when and how much health care savings would be realized.  

 

6. In the proposed rules and in alternative 1, tanners would have to show identification before they 

could tan.  This could cause sales, tanning fees, and taxes to go down slightly along with healthcare 

savings increasing slightly.  It may be the case that some tanners that are 18 or older do not have a 

driver’s license or a non-operator ID.  These tanners would not be able to tan under the proposed 

rule and alternative 1.  Also some tanners may decide not to tan under the proposed rules and 

alternative one, because they do not want to show identification.  Having to present a form of 

identification could be a requirement that might outweighs the tanners’ perceived benefits, 

therefore they no longer would tan under this requirement.  For those tanners who do not have a 

driver’s license or ID cards, there would be the additional cost, both in terms of fees and time, of 
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obtaining one if they want to tan.  The NC Department of Transportation currently charges $4 per 

year for a driver’s license (or about $32 for a standard 8-year validity) and $10 for a non-operator 

ID.  There is no way of knowing how many people the requirement to present identification would 

keep from tanning. 

 

 

7. With the reduction in tanners, some tanning facilities may no longer be profitable and might have 

to close.  If a facility had to close, there would be a reduction in tanning fees collected, sales of 

products, taxes and registration fees.  If a facility were to close we would expect a reduction of 

$83,000 in tanning fees and product sales, about $8,000 of this would be a loss to taxes collected 

by local, state and federal government while $75,000 would be a loss to the facility.  Additionally, 

there would be a loss in registration fees for the tanning equipment that would no longer be in 

use.  Registration fees for facilities are $200 for the first piece of equipment and $30 for each 

additional piece of equipment.  With about 5,700 tanning beds across 1,100 facilities we would 

expect to see a reduction of registration for 5 pieces of tanning equipment per facility.  This would 

result in a $320 loss to the state per facility that closes.  Benefits would be a saving of $83,000 for 

tanners, since they would no longer be able to tan or buy tanning products if a facility were to 

close. We cannot know how many facilities, if any, would close due to the ban, but these are the 

expected costs and benefits associated with a single facility closure. 
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APPENDIX 

PROPOSED RULE TEXT 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1403 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1403 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section, the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) "Agency" means the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources. Health and 

Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation, Radiation Protection Section.  

(2) "Consumer" means any individual who is provided access to a tanning facility which is required to be 

registered pursuant to provisions of this Section. 

(3) "Formal Operator Training" is a course of study approved by this agency as meeting the requirements in 

Paragraph (h) of Rule .1418 in this Section. 

(4) "Individual" means any human being. 

(5) "Inspection" means an official examination or observation to determine compliance with the rules in this 

Section, and orders, requirements and conditions of the agency. 

(6) "Minor" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

(7) "Medical Lamps" means any lamp that is specifically designed or labeled for medical use only. 

(8) "Operator" means any individual designated by the registrant to operate or to assist and instruct the 

consumer in the operation and use of the tanning facility or tanning equipment.  Under this definition, the 

term "operator", includes, but is not limited to, any such individual who conducts one or more of the 

following activities: 

(a) determining consumer's skin type; 

(b) determining the suitability of prospective consumers for tanning equipment use; 

(c) informing the consumer of dangers of ultraviolet radiation exposure including photoallergic 

reactions and photosensitizing agents; 

(d) assuring that the consumer reads and properly signs all forms as required by the rules in this 

Section; 

(e) maintaining required consumer exposure records; 

(f) recognizing and reporting consumer injuries or alleged injuries to the registrant; 

(g) determining the consumer's exposure schedule; 

(h) setting timers which control the duration of exposure; and 

(i) instructing the consumer in the proper use of protective eyewear. 

(9) "Person", as defined in G.S. 104E-5(11), means any individual, corporation, partnership, firm, association, 

trust, estate, public or private institution, group, agency, political subdivision of this state, any other state 

or political subdivision or agency thereof, and any legal successor, representative, agent or agency of these 

entities. 

(10) "Registrant" means any person who is registered with the agency as required by provisions of this Section. 
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(11) "Registration" means registration with the agency in accordance with provisions of this Section. 

(12) "Tanning components" means any constituent tanning equipment part, to include ballasts, starters, lamps, 

reflectors, acrylic shields, timers, and airflow cooling systems. 

(13) "Tanning equipment" means ultraviolet or other lamps and equipment containing such lamps intended to 

induce skin tanning through the irradiation of any part of the living human body with ultraviolet radiation, 

e.g., beds, booths, facials and wands. 

(14) "Tanning equipment services" means the installation, sales and servicing of tanning equipment and 

associated tanning components; calibration of equipment used in surveys to measure radiation and timer 

accuracy; tanning health physics consulting, e.g. radiation output measurements, design of safety programs, 

training seminars for tanning operators and service personnel. 

(15) "Tanning facility" means any location, place, area, structure or business which provides consumers access 

to tanning equipment.  For the purpose of this definition tanning equipment registered to different persons 

at the same location and tanning equipment registered to the same person, but at separate locations, shall 

constitute separate tanning facilities. 

(16) "Ultraviolet radiation" means electromagnetic radiation with wavelengths in air between 200 nanometers 

and 400 nanometers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); S.L. 2011-145, s.13.3(e); 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1403 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1414 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1414 WARNING SIGNS REQUIRED 

(a)  The registrant shall post the warning sign described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule within one meter of each tanning station 

and in such a manner that the sign is clearly visible, visible to consumers; not obstructed by any barrier, equipment equipment, 

or other object object; and can may be easily viewed by the consumer before the tanning equipment is energized. 

(b)  The warning sign in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall use upper and lower case letters which that are at least seven 

millimeters and three and one-half millimeters in height, respectively, and shall have the following wording: state: 

 

 DANGER - ULTRAVIOLET RADIATION 

                UV – emitting tanning devices have been classified as “carcinogenic to humans.”  

                Attention: This sunlamp product should not be used on persons under the age of 18 years. 

 - Follow instruction. 

 - Avoid overexposure.  As with natural sunlight, overexposure can cause eye and skin injury and allergic reactions.  

REPEATED EXPOSURE MAY CAUSE PREMATURE AGING OF THE SKIN AND SKIN CANCER. 

 - Wear protective eyewear. 

 

 FAILURE TO USE PROTECTIVE EYEWEAR MAY RESULT IN SEVERE BURNS OR LONG-TERM INJURY 

TO THE EYES. 

 

Contraindication: This sunlamp product is contraindicated for use on persons under the age of 18 years. 

Contraindications: This sunlamp product must not be used if skin lesions or open wounds are present. 

Warning: This sunlamp product should not be used on individuals who have had skin cancer or have a family history 

of skin cancer. 

Warning: Persons repeatedly exposed to ultraviolet sunlamp products should be regularly evaluated for skin cancer. 

 

 - Medications or cosmetics may increase your sensitivity to the ultraviolet radiation.  Consult a physician before 

using sunlamp or tanning equipment if you are using medication or have a history of skin problems or believe 

yourself to be especially sensitive to sunlight.  Consult your certified tanning operator for a list of cosmetics and 

products known to create sensitivity to light.  

 

 - If you do not tan in the sun, you are unlikely to tan from the use of this product. 

 

- Consumers should report to the agency any injury for which medical attention is sought or obtained resulting from 

the use of registered tanning equipment.  This report should be made within five working days after the occurrence. 

 

(c)  Warning signs shall include the current address of the agency:  Department of Health and Human Services, Division of 

Health Service Regulation, Radiation Protection Section, 1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1645. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); G.S. 104E-9.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; June 1, 1993; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1403 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1415 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1415 EQUIPMENT AND CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The registrant shall use only tanning equipment manufactured in accordance with the specifications set forth in 21 Code 

of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 1040, Section 1040.20, "Sunlamp products and ultraviolet lamps intended for use in 

sunlamp products". products,” and with 21 CFR Part 878.4635 “Sunlamp Products.” The standard of compliance shall be the 

standards in effect at the time of manufacture as shown on the equipment identification label required by 21 CFR Part 1010, 

Section 1010.3. 

(b)  Each assembly of tanning equipment shall be designed for use by only one consumer at a time. 

(c)  Each assembly of tanning equipment shall be equipped with a timer which complies with the requirements of 21 CFR 

Part 1040, Section 1040.20(c)(2).  The maximum timer interval shall not exceed the manufacturer's maximum recommended 

exposure time.  No timer interval shall have an error exceeding plus or minus 10 percent of the maximum timer interval for 

the product. 

(d)  Tanning equipment shall include physical barriers to protect consumers from injury induced by touching or breaking the 

lamps. 

(e)  All tanning equipment labeling required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule by 21 CFR 1010, Section 1010.3 and 21 CFR Part 

878.4635 shall be legible and accessible to view. easily read by the consumer while in the proximity of the tanning bed. 

(f)  The timer intervals shall be numerically indicated on the face of the timer. 

(g)  The timer shall not automatically reset and cause radiation emission to resume for a period greater than the unused portion 

of the timer cycle, cycle when emission from the tanning device has been interrupted. 

(h)  Each assembly of tanning equipment shall be provided with a control on the equipment to enable the consumer to 

manually terminate radiation emission from the equipment at any time without disconnecting the electrical plug or removing 

any ultraviolet lamp. 

(i)  The timer for the tanning devices shall be remotely located outside the room where the tanning equipment is located.  The 

remote timer shall be set by a certified tanning operator.  Effective August 1, 2004, all tanning facilities shall be equipped 

with remote timers. 

(j)  The registrant shall ensure that timer tests are performed annually on each assembly of tanning equipment and documented 

in writing for agency review during inspections to ensure the timer is accurate to within 10 percent as specified in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule .1415 of this Section and the consumer is able to terminate the radiation manually in accordance with 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(k)  Medical lamps shall not be used for commercial cosmetic tanning purposes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; June 1, 1993; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1415 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1418 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1418 RECORDS: REPORTS AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Prior to initial exposure, the tanning facility operator shall provide each consumer the opportunity to read a copy of the 

warning specified in Rule .1414(b) of this Section and request that have the consumer sign a statement that the information 

has been read and understood. For illiterate or visually impaired persons unable to sign their name, the warning statement 

shall be read aloud by the operator, operator to that individual, in the presence of a witness, and the witness and the operator 

shall sign the statement. 

(b)  The registrant shall maintain a record of each consumer's total number of tanning visits including dates and durations of 

tanning exposures. 

(c)  The registrant shall submit to the agency a written report of injury for which medical attention was sought or obtained 

from the use of registered tanning equipment to the Radiation Protection Section within five working days after occurrence.  

The report shall include: 

(1) the name of the affected individual; 

(2) the name and location of the tanning facility involved; 

(3) the nature of the actual or alleged injury; and 

(4) any other information relevant to the actual or alleged injury, to include the date and duration of exposure 

and any documentation of medical attention sought or obtained. 

(d)  The registrant shall not allow individuals under the age of 18 to use tanning equipment. equipment unless the individual 

provides a consent form and a statement, described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, signed by that individual's parent or legal 

guardian.  

(e)  The registrant shall verify by checking legal identification that each consumer is 18 years of age or older. 

(e) (f)  The registrant shall not allow minors to remain in the tanning room while the tanning equipment is in operation except 

as provided for in this Rule. operation. 

(f) (g)  The registrant shall replace defective or burned out lamps, bulbs, or filters with a type intended for use in the affected 

tanning equipment as specified by the manufacturer's product label and having the same spectral distribution (certified 

equivalent lamp). 

(g) (h)  The registrant shall replace ultraviolet lamps and bulbs which that are not otherwise defective or damaged, at such 

frequency or after such duration of use as may be is recommended by the manufacturer of such lamps and bulbs. 

(h) (i)  The registrant shall certify that all tanning equipment operators are trained in at least the following: 

(1) the requirements of this Section; 

(2) procedures for correct operation of the tanning facility and tanning equipment; 

(3) recognition of injury or overexposure to ultraviolet radiation; 

(4) the tanning equipment manufacturer's procedures for operation and maintenance of the tanning equipment; 

(5) the determination of skin type of customers and appropriate determination of duration of exposure to 

registered tanning equipment; and 

(6) emergency procedures to be followed in case of injury. 
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(i) (j)  The registrant shall allow operation of tanning equipment only by and in the physical presence of persons who have 

successfully completed formal training courses which that meet the requirements of  Subparagraphs (h)(1) (i)(1) to (6) of this 

Rule.  

(j) (k)  The registrant shall maintain a record of operator training required in Paragraphs (h)and (i) (i) and (j) of this Rule for 

inspection by authorized representatives of the agency. 

(k) (l)  No registrant shall possess, use, operate, or transfer tanning equipment or their ultraviolet radiation sources in such a 

manner as to cause any individual under 18 years of age to be exposed to radiation emissions from such equipment except in 

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. equipment. 

(l) (m)  Each registrant shall make available to all employees current copies of the following documents: 

(1) the facility's certificate of registration; registration with the Radiation Protection Section; and 

(2) conditions or documents incorporated into the registration by reference and amendments thereto. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); G.S. 104E-9, G.S. 104E-9.1, and G.S. 104E-12 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1418 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1419 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1419 COMMUNICATIONS WITH THE AGENCY: AGENCY ADDRESS 

Applications for registration, reports, notifications notifications, and other communications required by this Section shall be 

mailed to the Division of Radiation Protection, Protection Section, 1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-

1645 or delivered to the agency at its office located at 3825 Barrett Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7221. 5505 

Creedmoor Road, Suite 100, Raleigh, North Carolina 27612. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(7); 

Eff. June 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1992; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1419 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 
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10A NCAC 15 .1423 is proposed for amendment as follows: 

 

10A NCAC 15 .1423 FEES AND PAYMENT 

(a)  This Rule establishes fees for persons registered pursuant to the provisions of this Section to cover the anticipated costs 

of tanning equipment inspection and enforcement activities of the agency. 

(b) (a)  Annual fees established in this Rule are shall be due on the first day of July of each year. 

(c) (b)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (b) of this Rule, when a new registration is issued by the agency Radiation Protection 

Section after the first day of July of any year, the initial fee is due on the date of issuance of the registration. 

(d) (c)  The initial fee in Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be computed as follows: 

(1) When any new registration is issued before the first day of January of any year, the initial fee is the full 

amount specified in this Rule; and 

(2) When any new registration is issued on or after the first day of January of any year, the initial fee is one-

half of the amount specified in this Rule. 

(e)  All fees received by the agency pursuant to provisions of this Rule are nonrefundable. 

(f) (d)  Each registrant may pay all fees by cash, check check, or money order provided: as follows: 

(1) Checks or money orders shall be made payable to "Radiation Protection Section", Section,” and mailed to 

1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1645 or delivered to the agency office at 3825 Barrett Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27609-7221; and 5505 Creedmoor Road, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27612; and 

(2) Cash payments shall be made only by appointment by calling the agency at 919/571-4141 919/814-2250 

and delivered to the agency office at 3825 Barrett Drive, Raleigh, NC  27609-7221. 5505 Creedmoor Road, 

Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27612. 

(g) (e)  Within five days after the due dates established in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, the agency shall mail to each 

registrant, registrant who has not already submitted payment, payment a notice which that indicates the due date, the amount 

of fees due, and the delinquent date. 

(h) (f)  Payment of fees established in this Rule is shall be delinquent if not received by the agency within 60 days after the 

due date specified in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule. 

(i) (g)  If a registrant remits a fee in the form of a check or other instrument which that is uncollectible from the paying 

institution, the agency shall notify the registrant by certified mail and allow the registrant 15 days to correct the matter, which 

includes including payment of any fee charged to the agency by a banking institution. 

(j) (h)  If payment of fees is uncollectible from the paying institution or not submitted to the agency by the delinquent date, 

the agency may institute legal action to collect. 

(k) (i)  Annual fees for persons registered pursuant to provisions of this Section are as listed in the following table: 

 

Type of registered facility Letters appearing in 

registration number 

Facility plus first piece of 

tanning equipment 

Each additional piece of 

tanning equipment 

Tanning Facility B $200.00 $30.00 

Tanning Equipment 

Services 

F $200.00 NA 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 104E-7(a)(4); 104E-9(a)(8); 104E-19(a); 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2011; August 1, 2007; August 1, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 15A NCAC 11 .1423 Eff. February 1, 2015. 2015; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2016. 

 

 

 


