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Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section
Licensure & Training Section Licen

\\ e Provided in a 24-hour living environment in a n¢
N setting where room, board and supervision ar

| Residential ors c e
B Facilitics of the care, treatment, habilitation or rehabilita

V e A service provided on a regular basis, in a structured
[ 5 environment that is offered to the same individual for a period
Progfa)'/ms of three or more hours within a 24-hour period

V e A service provided either regularly or intermittently, through
N short, recurring visits for persons with mental iliness,
| Periodic . .

Services developmental disability or who are substance abusers

7
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Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section
Licensure & Training Section

The Licensure & Training Section does NOT license:
Assertive Community Treatment (ACT) Programs
Community Support (CST) Teams
Peer Support Services

Adult Care Homes

Family Care Homes

YV V VYV VYV V

Outpatient Therapy
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Mental Health Licensure and Certification licenses

31 Specific Services
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The Rules and Statutes

of#ao
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The Rules
Statute, Rule, Policy & Procedure

Licensure Rules Policy & Procedure
General Statutes *Mental Heath *Policy = Clear simple
*General Assembly Commission statement of intent

. *Department of Health & | “Procedure = The steps
*Signed by Governor Hurr?an Services to put the policy into

(DHHS) Secretary <eon
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North Carolina General Statutes

Outline the basic requirements for licensure

Define what constitutes a mental health licensable facility

Explain the client rights available to all people served

Include requirement not set forth in rule such as information about
penalties and sanctions

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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General Statutes

Facilities must adhere to a variety of General Statutes (G.S) aimed

at protecting the clients served.

G.S. 131E-256;
Health Care
Personnel Registry

. N

G.S. 122C-80;
Criminal History
Record Check
Required for
Certain Applicants
for Employment

N

G.S. 122C-61:
Treatment rights in
24 hr facilities

N

G.S. 122C-62:
Additional rights in
24 hr facilities

N

G.S. 122C-63;
Assurance for
Continuity of Care
for Individuals
with Mental
Retardation

G.S. 122C-6;
Smoking
Prohibited; Penalty

N

J
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Session Law 2015-36: Burt’s Law

THERE IS
NO EXCUSE

FOR ABUSE
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North Carolina Administrative Code
Rules and Regulations

10A NCAC Chapter
ARV [=10)r=1M g [=Y-111a /A * Subchapter C: Other General Rules

General

10A NCAC Chapter « Subchapter C: Procedures and General Information

27 Mental Health, « Subchapter D: General Rights
» Subchapter E: Treatment or Habilitation Rights

» Subchapter F: 24-Hour Facilities

Community

Facilities and « Subchapter G: Rules for Mental Health, Developmental
Services Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Facilities and Services

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://[www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NCAC 27G
Section 27G .0400 of the North Carolina
0400 - Administrative Code sets forth the
requirements for mental health
licensure.

Licensing
Procedures
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Core
. Every licensed facility must adhere to all
Licensure core rules in 27G..0100 - .0905
Rules

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Core Licensure Rules

Core rules include but are not limited to:

General & staff definitions

Governing body policy requirements

Client record requirements

Staff record & training requirements

Client services & treatment plan requirements
Emergency plan requirements

Medication requirements

Physical plant requirements

Licensing requirements

Incident reporting requirements

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://[www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Program Specific Licensure Rules

In addition to core rules,
facilities must also adhere to
the program specific rules for
the licensed service category.

Program specific
rules are within 10A
NCAC Chapter 27G

1000 -.7101

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



Providers must know the service they are
licensed to provide and ensure they
adhere to the correct program specific
rules



NC Department of Health and Human Services
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facilities must
adhere to all
client rights
rules.

In addition to
core and

program
specific rules,

Client rights
rules cannot be
waived

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Why is all this so important to me?

Statute

Treatment Needs

Ensuring client
are Met

Day to Day
Operations

Policy Procedure

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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NC Division of Health Service Regulation

NCDHHS

Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

What We Do ‘ Citizens ‘ Providers | A-Z Index ] The Point

Home  Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

Staff and Contacts

Licensed Facilities .
General Information

Announcements Contact Information
Facility Licensure Information Customer Service Surveys

Frequently Asked Questions
Provider Trainings nformation

Rules and Resources ’ T - i ’ . : o ’

The Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section of the Division of Health Service Regulation is responsible for licensing and regulating mental health,

Forms and Applications substance abuse, intellectual disability and developmental disability facilities in North Carolina. These facilities include:
Emergency Relocation of Clients

) « Intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID),
Public Records + Group homes for children and adults with mental illness, developmental disabilities and substance abuse issues.
Frequently ask Questions + Day services for children and adults with mental iliness, developmental disabilities and substance abuse issues.

The section is responsible for conducting initial, annual, and complaint investigations. The main office is in Raleigh. There is a regional office in Black
Mountain. The section is divided into two branches:

« ICF/IID Branch
« Mental Health Licensure Branch.

The ICF/IID branch is responsible for surveying intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities. The ICF/IID teams certify that ICF/IID
programs meet federal standards required for participation in Medicaid. This branch has teams based in Raleigh and Black Mountain.

The Mental Health Licensure branch is responsible for licensing and surveying mental health residential and day programs for minors and adults with
substance abuse, mental iliness and developmental disabilities. This branch has teams based in Raleigh, Clinton and Asheville,

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Choosing a
Service
Category

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-SA
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What type of Service?

Residential Services Day/Periodic Services

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Residential Services

10A NCAC 27G: Ml Description of Service Category oM sup e
1300 Residential Treatment Facilities For Children & Adolescents X X X
1700 Residential Treatment Staff Secure for Children or Adolescents X X
1800 Intensive Residential Treatment for Children or Adolescents X X
PRTF-Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility for children and adolescents
1900 (allow service up to age 21) X X X X
Specialized Community Residential Centers for Individuals with
.2100 Developmental Disabilities X X X X
.3100 Non-hospital Medical Detoxification-Individuals who are Substance Abusers X X X X
.3200 Social Setting Detoxification for Substance Abuse X X X X
.3400 Residential Treatment-Individuals with Substance Abuse Disorders X X X X
Residential Recovery Programs for Individuals with Substance Abuse
.4100 Disorders and their Children X X X
4300 Therapeutic Community X X X
.5000 Facility Based Crisis Service for Individuals of all Disability Groups X X X X X
.5100 Community Respite Services for Individuals of all Disability Groups X X X X X X
.5200 Residential Therapeutic Camps-Children & Adolescents-all Disability Groups X X
.5600A Supervised Living for Adults with Mental lliness X X X
.5600B Supervised Living for Minors with Developmental Disabilities X X X
.5600C Supervised Living for Adults with Developmental Disabilities X X X
.5600D Supervised Living for Minors with Substance Abuse Dependency X X X
.5600E Supervised Living for Adults with Substance Abuse Dependency X X X
.5600F Supervised Living: Alternative Family Living in a Private Residence X X X

Note: MI (Mental Iliness), IDD (Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities), SUD (Substance Use Disorder)

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Day/Periodic Services

10A NCAC 27G: Kl Description of Service Category
1100 Partial Hospitalization for Individuals who are acutely Mentally Ill X X X X

Psychosocial Rehabilitation facilities for individuals with severe and
1200 persistent mental illness X X X

Day Treatment for children and adolescents with emotional or behavioral
1400 disturbances X X X

School Year, Before/After School and Summer Developmental Day Services
2200 for Children X X X

Adult Developmental Vocational Programs for Individuals with
2300 Developmental Disabilities X X X
3300 Outpatient Detoxification for Substance Abuse X X X X
3600 Outpatient Opioid Treatment X X X X
3700 Day Treatment Facilities for Individuals with Substance Abuse Disorders X X X X
4400 Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Program (SAIOP) X X X X
4500 Substance Abuse Comprehensive Outpatient Treatment (SACOT) X X X
5100 Community Respite Services for Individuals of all Disability Groups X X X X X X
5400 Day Activity for Individuals of all Disability Groups X X X X X X
5500 Sheltered Workshops for Individuals of All Disability Groups X X X X X

Note: MI (Mental lllness), DD (Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities), SUD (Substance Use Disorder)

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Local Management Entity/Managed Care Organizations (LME/MCOs)
NCDHHS Currently Has 4 LME/MCOs Operating Under the Medicaid 1915 b/c Waiver
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This map shows LME/MCO configuration effective 2/1/24.

What services are needed'in your Area

Local Management Entity/Managed Care Organization (LME/MCO)
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How will | get Paid?

-
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The Initial
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Process
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License Application Requirements & Checklist
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Day Program Checklist

Mot Doy Prograns for children and acole ool s Sarreed e keera ted im o building Classilfied ot & Secbneees Do ouparmssy. Theasa Eror ariics See revguires
Ein Pt i s Ceoup E- EBducationad Sawcogmaineey o Srcap g - Chilld Daser s D cspran ey worafonr e SeTS B

I additicn to yowr cowver letter, appElication, and fee, plaass submit the followimg:

i & floor plan of the entire buillding or floor within the buillding of the space to be licemsed that
specifies the followsing:
2. ldentificaticn and dimensions of rooms. to be licensad.
b. Exits from the licensaed space amnd bauaildings.
. Taoilet areas and otiver required support spaces.

z. [Exterior photos of each side of the building. Interdor photos of the proposad licensed space.

F. DMrectdons from Raledzh or a map from the rearest major hghneay, street or intersection clearhy
showwing the location of the fadility.

4. Loxcal Toming Department approval or werificatiom the fadclity s classified umnder building!plammings
for intended wse=.

5. Current hecal Fire pMarshal’s Inspection Report for the buildims.

&, Curment lecal Samitation Inspection report if serving any food.

7. A preliminary program approval letter is reqguired from the State Opdoid Treatment Aasthority
[SOTA] for all Service Category 36o0o facilities.

H. Mew ConstructioniRencwvation: the local Buillding Officials approwal.

o,  [Existing Structure: IT this = an exdisting Business Occupancy bullding {(as dassified uwnder the Morth

Carclina state bwilding code] and it = only a change of tenant use (for a program thart is classified
as a “Business Ocoupancy usa") approval from the local Buillding Official may mot be reguired.
Contact your local Buwilding Official and provide them with a copy of your application to werify if
wouur proEram s classified as a Business Ooowpancy ard if they meed to prowide any type of
docurmentation.

D=y PI'E-E'I_.:H'I'I Thecklist
Iterm Completed
Ta Cower Letber
2. Completed Initial Licensure Application (form DHSE soo1 )
. Fasa
- Floor Flanm with dimemnsions
5. Fictures (Interior £ Exterior)
&. Firections to Facility
ra Fonimg Approval (original])
Regusired for appslication fo meowe forssard
&. Fire Inspection {clear copy or ariginall
(=18 Samnitation Inkgpection (clear copy or original) if servimgg food
1o, FPreliminary Program approval from SOTA [ service category SEoom )
11, BEuildingg nispection {original) if applicable for mew comstruction or rencsation off
Euildings

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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1.  FACILITY MAME:
= Mame which the facility is adwvertized or presentaed to the public. This is the name that will be printed on your

liremss. Refar tim this facility nama in all inquiiries

2. FACILITY SITE ADDRESS: (MO PO, BOXES)

LStreet Address:

City= LStatas Zip Code: Coumntys
Phomne: Emnaiil:

* Must have an operable facility designated telephone that is cl=ary wisible, acoessible, on site and
avallable 24 howrs.

3. FACILITY CORRESPOMNDEMCE MAILING ADDHRESS:

Mame of Contact Persom:

LStreet Address:
City= LStatas Zip Code:
Phone: Ermail:

. MAME OF FACILITY DIRECTOR: (P, B, Lassh

5. SIGNATURE OF LICENMSEE OR PERSON WITH SIGMATORY AUTHORITY: The undersigned, representing the
governing authorty, submits information for the abowve named fadility and certifies the accuwracy of this
imnformation in accordance with 104 MNCALC 270

Marme: jrrw, s L]

LSignature: Title: Diate:

ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE MAILED TO ABOVE ADDRESS AND MUST HAVE AN ORIGINAL SIGHATURE

CFFICIAL IUSE OMILY: MHSE Form goSo
Licensure Cabegomes:
Licensurs Re-commmeenclation: DHSRA Consau ot
Rermarscs:

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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. MAMNAGEMENT COMPANY: If facility i managed by a company other than the licensees, provide the following
information abowt the Management Company:

Mame of Compamy’Contact Persomn:

Street Address:

Ciys LState: Zip Code:

FPhone: Emmaiil:

7. LOCAL MAMAGEMEMNT EMTITY MAMAGED CARE ORGAMIZATION (LME/MCO) {List name(s] of LME/MOIOs with
which the facility has a contract):

8. LEGAL IFEMTITY OF OWMERSHIP/LICEMSEE:

Fudl l=gal name of individual, partnership, corporation or other lagal entity, wwhich owns the mental health facility
business, s required. OawnerfLicensas means any person/business entity (Conp., LLC, etc.) that has legal or aguitable
title to or a majaority interest in the mantal kealth facility. This antity is responsible for financial and contractual
abligations of the business and will be recorded as the lleenses on the llcense.

(a) Mame of Owner'Corporation:

Street Address:

Ciys LState: Zip Code:

FPhone: Emmaiil:

(b) Federal Tax ID number of OesvnerfLicensasa:

() NATIOMNAL PROVIDER IDENTIFIER [NPI):

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Bullding Onwmer: If the above entity { partmership, corporation, etc.] does not owen the bullding from which services
are offered, please provide the following information:
Mame of Bullding Owner:

Street Address:

Citry= Ltate: fip Codea:

Fhone: Emmail:

Leass explres:

. OWHNERS, PRINCIFLES, AFFILIATES, SHAREHOL DERS | Confidential Infarmation for Official Use Only)

Eor-Profit individuals or Companies

Complete the information below an glll individ usals swho are owners, principles, affilates or sharebolders bolding an irterest of £X or mone of
the Boensing entity listed on page 2. Attach additionad pages if necessary. I you are the anly cwner, complete the infommation below, stimg
the percontage mterest as 10o.

Sharefwlder Marme: [ First, &, Last)

Street Address:

Clitry= State: Zip Code:
Phone: Ermail:
Percentage interest in this facility: Title:

Shareholder Mamme: | Fiest, &4, Last)

Strest Addrecs:

Cltry= State: Zip Code:
Phonie: Ermadl:
Percentage interest in this facility: Title:

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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License Fees

Construction
Fees

— o, e
Type of Facility Number of Beds Base Fee Per Bed Fee
Non-ICF/IID Facilities 6 or less $350.00 %0
Non-ICF/IID Facilities 7 or more $525.00 $19.00
ICF/IID Facilities 6 or less $900.00 $o0
ICF/IID Facilities 7 or more $850.00 $19.00
Non Residential Facilities N/A $265.00 N/A

Type of Facility

Number of Beds

Project Fee

Non-ICF/IID Facilities 1-3 s$125.00
Non-ICF/IID Facilities 4-6 $225.00
Non-ICF/IID Facilities 7-9 $275.00

ICF/IID Facilities 1-6 $350.00

Other Residential Facilities

10 or more

$275.00 + 3.15/sq.ft. project

space

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr




Initial Application

A letter of support from the
LME/MCO must be submitted if a
residential facility

Ensure the correct building
approval is submitted for a day
program/periodic facility.



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulatio

Change of Ownership = CHOW

* The current licensee must notify
DHSR in writing at least 30 days prior
to the planned change of ownership

 The prospective provider must
submit a Change Licensure
Application

« DO NOT begin operating until DHSR
issues a license to the new owner O EKS IP

(3
N\
\
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Submitting an application for a CHOW does not
guarantee the CHOW will be granted




Disclosure

" ATRSHP

e Legal Identity of Licensee
* Legal Entity

* Management Company

* Owners

* Principles

« Affiliates

e Shareholders

* Members

‘liﬁ
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Other changes to your license...

Change of Location

Change of Capacity

Change of Service Category/Code
Change of Facility Name

Change of Licensee/Ownership

Change Ambulatory Bed(s) to Non-Ambulatory Bed(s)

Adding a Mental Health Service to a Mental Health Hospital

Change of Shareholders

Do NOT implement the change until an amended license is
approved!

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Construction Section
Mission Statement

To ensure that the construction and operation of
buildings regulated by the Division provide a safe,
healthy and suitable environment for residents,
and patients using those facilities.

1/2024-TMS DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements
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Q()wrview MHL Physical Plant Presentation

The purpose of this presentation 1s to provide general information
about the review and inspection process once your application 1s
recerved 1n the Construction Section. In this presentation we will
provide information on:

|
2.
3.
4

Construction Section fees and project assignments
What to submit with your application

Minimum physical plant requirements

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

1/2024-TMS DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requiremen ts 44
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Construction Section

Fees and project assignments

DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements

45



Construction Section Fees and
Project Assignments

MHL apphcatlons must be sent to DHSR MHL Licensure and
Certification. For facility licensure information, please see
DHSR MHL Licensure and Certification website at
https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/mhics/establish.html#apply

DHSR MHL Licensure and Certification will forward your
application and other documentation to the Construction
Section for review and approval

Once your application and documentation 1s received in the
Construction Section, a project review fee will be assessed, and
an application acknowledgement letter and invoice will be sent
to the contact person listed on the application



Construction Section Fees and
Project Assignments

* Itis very important to have accurate, complete contact information
to ensure all correspondences are sent to the correct person. Be
sure the application 1s provided with an email address and working
phone number. Not having correct information could delay the
review and approval of your project.

* Once the review fee has been received, your project will be
assigned to an architect and/or engineer for review.

* The Construction Section will not review a project or make any site
visits until the construction fee is paid.

1/2024-TMS DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements 47



~ Construction Section Fees and
S Project Assignments

Once the project has been assigned, the assigned architect and/or
engineer will contact you either via review letter or phone call.

The architect and/or engineer assigned to the project 1s your contact
until _the completion and recommendation for licensure to
Mental Health Licensure and Certification. Once the project 1is
assigned, all project questions should be directed to the assigned
architect and/or engineer.

1/2024-TMS DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements 48



WHAT TO SUBMIT
WITH YOUR
APPLICATION

SR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements



| What To Submit With
~ Your Application

* A floor plan that specifies the following:

a.

b.

C.

1/2024-TMS

All levels including basements and upstairs
Identification of the use of all rooms/spaces

Dimensions of all bedrooms, excluding any toilets and bathing areas.
Clarify whether bedroom will be single or double or single occupancy.
Also show the location of any live-in person’s bedroom

Location of all doors and the dimensions of all exterior doors
Location of all windows including the dimensions of bedroom windows

Location of all smoke detectors noting whether they are battery operated,
wired into the house current with battery backup, and if they are
interconnected (one sound they all sound)

Floor plan must be legible AND accurately reflect the floor plan of the
house.

DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requirements 30



Floor Plan Example
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What To Submit With

q ‘ Your Application
* Exterior photos of each side of the building

* Interior photos of the kitchen, living areas, bedrooms, and any other
rooms

* Directions from Raleigh or a map from the nearest major highway, street
or intersection clearly showing the location of the facility

* Local Zoning Department approval for the proposed use

* Letter of Support from LME/MCO

Providing the correct, accurate information will make it easier for you
project to be reviewed!

1/2024-TMS
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Construction Section

Minimum physical plant requirements
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q . MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
T REQUIREMENTS

Important definitions to know and understand:

Ambulatory Client — a client who is able to respond and evacuate
the facility (home) without verbal or physical assistance

Non-Ambulatory Client — a client who is not able to respond and
evacuate the facility (home) without verbal or physical assistance

**These definitions are very important at the initial licensing of the
facility (home) and as the clients age in place. Due to changes in
client’s needs, the facility (home) may have to change ambulation
status over time.**
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

PLEASE READ
nconns THE RULES

North Carolina

Division of Health Service Regulation

.
The Division of Health Service Regulation oversess medical, mental health and adult care facilities, emergency medical
services, and local jails. We check to see that people receiving care in these facilities are safe and receive appropriate care. I he M I I I I lc ensure I e | I le S C al I
& We make certain that medical buildings are built only when there is a need for them.

be found on the DHSR Website

What's New? Quick Links
Declaratory Rulings File a Complaint | Presente una Customer Service Surveys NC State Medical Facilities
Legislative Actions Queja . . Forms and Applications PIB"_ .
Public Notices Adult Care Facility Inspections, Home Care Licensure Information Provider Allegation
Ratings and Penalties i
Reports Adult Care Home Violations and How to Start a Facility Rules and Regulations
Rule Actions Penalties Licensed Facilities -
Adult Care Star Rating Program Mental Health Public Records Costs
Adult Care Training Resources :“‘C Automatte% BatCkDI'(OAJé'lgMCEr;eCk Verify Registry Listings
lanagement System
Certificate of Public Advantage a V! Volunteer Health Services
Act
Sections Licensure and Certification Commissions/Council
Complaint Intake and Health Care Healthcare Planning and Acute and Home Care NC Medical Care
Personnel Investigations Certificate of Need Commission
Adult Care
Construction Office of Emergency Medical Mental Health NC Radiation Protection
- Jails and Detention Services : Commission
Radiation Protection Nursing Home NC State Health
Health Care Personnel Education and Coordinating Council

Credentialing

m Contact us or send questions and comments to:
DHSR Webmaster, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701 E v, I
zcels

Sorvices, Solutions, Success

—

Contact Us Rules and Regulations Glossary | Jobs at NC DHSR Directions ‘ Disclaimer

This page was last modified on 08/25/2020 10:42:00

Division of Health Service Regulation

wn
n
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Madizati L 10A NCAC
Chapter 13
Subchapter 0 &

MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

Chapter 13 Emergency Preparedness Final Rule & (PDF, 783 KB) -
Subchapter K&
Hospital 10A NCAC Appendix A @ (PDF, 2.13 MB)

Chapter 13 Appendix V @ (PDF, 392 KB)
Subchapter B & Emergency Preparedness Final Rule @ (PDF, 783 KB)

Hospital - Psychiatric Units 10A NCAC
Chapter 13
Subchapter B &

Chapter 27
Subchapter C &
DFEFFE

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 10A NCAC Appendix J & {PDF, 432 KB}

(ICF/IID) Chapter 26 Emergency Preparedness Final Rule @ (PDF, 783 KB)
Subchapter C &
Chapter 27 o
Subchapter C &

* Once you get to this page,
Jails, Local Confinement Facilities 10A NCAC

S Select “G” to get to the Rules

Laberatory, Pap Smear, HIV Testing, Mammogram 10A NCAC Appendix C & (PDF, 3.78 MB)

S e (10ANCAC 27G)

Mental Health / 104 NCAC
Chapter 26

* The overall Physical Plant
T —

er

qEl Rules are outlined under

Nurse Aide I Registry 0A NCAC
W .
Subchapter D&
Section .0300
Nurse Aide Training 104 NCAC
Chapter 13

Subchapter D&

Nursing Home 10A NCAC Appendix PP @ (PDF, 1.21 MB)

gngg;z;tlsr - Emergency Preparedness Final Rule @ (PDF, 783 KB) [ ] C ertain prO grams haVe
e : additional Physical Plant Rules
that will apply or in some cases

may supersede certain aspects
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

10ANCAC 27G.0301 COMPLIANCE WITH BUILDING « "™FS

(a) Each new facility shall be in compliance with all applicable portions of the tvuaw. © 7= @*ote Ridlding Cnde i affact oo it _ D scusing

(b) Each facility operating under a current license 1ssued by DFS upon the effective date of this Rule shall be in compliance with all apphcable p-omons of the North Carolina State Building Code in effect at the
time the facility was constructed or last renovated.

(c) Each facility shall maintain documented evidence of compliance with applicable fire, sanitation and building codes including an annual fire inspection.

(d) As used in these Rules, the term "new facility” refers to a facility that has not been licensed previously and for which an minal license 1s sought. The term includes buildings converted from another use or
containing facilities licensed for a different use than the facility for which an initial license 1s sought.

Hisrory Note: Authority G.5. 122C-26; 143B-147;
Eff May 1, 1996;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019.

SECTION .0300 - PHYSICAL PLANT RULES

10ANCAC 27G 0302 FACILITY CONSTRUCTION/ALTERATIONS/ADDITIONS

(2) When construction, use, alterations or additions are planned for a new or existing facility, work shall not begin until after consultation with the DFS Construction Section and with the local building and fire
officials having junisdiction. Governing bodies are encouraged to consult with DFS prior to purchasing property intended for use as a facility.

(b) All required permits and approvals shall be obtained from the local authorities having jurisdiction.

History Note: Authority GS. 122C-26; 143B-147,
Eff May 1, 1995;

Pursuant o G.5. 15 0B8-21.34, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff July 20, 2019. V‘ V e urg e y Ou— tO

10ANCAC 27G .0303 LOCATION AND EXTERIOR REQUIREMENTS
(a) Each facility shall be located on a site where:

(1) fire protection is available;

2 water supply, sewage and solid waste disposal services have been approved by the local health department; C O nt act u S at
(3) occupants are not exposed to hazards and pollutants that may constitute a threat to their health. safety. and welfare: and

) local ordinances and zoning laws are met.

(b) The site at which a 24-hour facility is located shall have sufficient outdoor area to permit clients to exercise their right to outdoor activity in accordance with the provistons of G.§. 122C-62.

(c) Each facility and its grounds shall be maintained in 2 safe, clean, attractive and orderly manner and shall be kept free from offensive odor. ®
(d) Buildings shall be kept free from insects and rodents. — — ‘ N ’ lt

History Note: Authority G.S. 122C-26; 143B-147;
EF May 1, 1996;
Pursuant ta G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 20, 2019

34, 2 h .
10ANCAC 27G 0304 FACILITY DESIGN AND EQUIPMENT any qu e S tl O n S

(a) Privacy: Facilities shall be designed and constructed in a manner that will provide clients privacy while bathing, dressing or using toilet facilities.
(b) Safety: Each facility shall be designed. constructed and equipped 1n a manner that ensures the physical safety of clients, staff and visitors.

(1) All hallways, doorways, entrances, ramps, steps and corridors shall be kept clear and unobstructed at all times. M ®
(2) All mattresses purchased for existing or new facilities shall be fire retardant. C Onc emln P S 1 C a
3 Electrical, mechanical and water systems shall be mamntamed m operating condition.
4 In areas of the facility where clients are exposed to hot water, the temperature of the water shall be maintained between 100-116 degrees Fahrenheit.
(5) All indoor areas to which clients have routine access shall be well-lighted. Lighting shall be adequate to permit occupants to comfortably engage in normal and appropriate daily activities such
as reading, writing, working, sewing and grooming.
(c) Comfort Zone: Each 24-hour facility shall provide heating and air-cooling equipment to maintain a comfort range between 68 and 30 degrees Fahrenheit. P ant R | I e S
(1) This requirement shall not apply to therapeutic (habilitative) camps and other 24-hour facilities for six or fewer clients.
2 Facilities licensed prior to October 1, 1988 shall not be required to add or install cooling equipment if not already nstalled
(d) Indoor space requirements: Facilities licensed prior to October 1, 1988 shall satisfy the minimum square footage requirements in effect at that time. Unless otherwise provided in these Rules. residential
facilities licensed after October 1, 1988 shall meet the following indoor space requirements: -
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

Bedrooms [27G .0304(d)]

a) Single occupancy bedrooms a minimum of 100 square feet
b) Double occupancy bedrooms a minimum of 160 square feet

*No more than two (2) clients may share an individual bedroom regardless of bedroom size.
*Closets should not be added to get in this calculation to achieve the minimum room sizes.

c) Separate bedroom for overnight accommodations for persons other than clients

d) No client is permitted to sleep in an unfinished basement or in an attic

¢) In a residential facility licensed under residential building code standards and
without elevators**, bedrooms above or below the ground level shall be used only for
individuals who are capable of moving up and down the steps independently
(ambulatory).

**If the Licensure application has a request for non-ambulatory clients, these non-ambulatory
clients’ bedroom must be on the main ground floor.
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q MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
T REQUIREMENTS
Bedrooms — Examples of Sufficient Square Footage:

Single occupancy bedrooms a minimum of 100 square feet

100.0 ft2 §\\
13' 8 3/8" §§

13' 8 3/8"
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Bedrooms — Examples of Sufficient Square Footage:

MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

Double occupancy bedrooms a minimum of 160 square feet

(134.62 cm)
4! 51!

Wardrobe |

N
N\
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~ ) MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
S REQUIREMENTS

Bedrooms — Example of Insufficient Square Footage:

Double occupancy bedrooms a minimum of 160 square feet

1/2024-TMS

e

- / 1(?"10 3/4" —
|

<
Bedroom i
- 148.4 ft? -
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', MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

Bathrooms [27G .0304(d)(10)]

At least one full bathroom for each
five or fewer persons, including staff
of the facility and their family.
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Water Temperature
[27G .0304(b)(4)]

Between 100 degrees

(minimum) and 116 degrees
(maximum)

1/2024-TMS

MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requiremen ts
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

**The following slides are additional
requirements from the 2018 North Carolina
State Building Codes which are applicable to all
Licensed Residential Care Facilities. These slides
do not contain all the requirements of the 2018
North Carolina State Building Codes. Please
consult with the local authority having
jurisdiction in your town or county.**
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS

(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Smoke Detectors
120 volt smoke detectors permanently connected to
the house current and battery backed-up.
Smoke detector installed in each bedroom.
Smoke detector installed outside of any bedroom or
cluster of bedrooms.
Smoke detector installed on each story of the home
including the basement (if habitable).
All smoke detectors interconnected such that when
one detector 1s activated, all smoke detectors activate.

Ground Fault Interrupter Protection
Along kitchen countertops, in garages, outdoor
outlets, crawl spaces, within 6 feet from sinks,
laundry areas, and bathrooms
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| MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
T REQUIREMENTS

(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Kitchen Range Hood
Vented to the outdoors or if its an
unvented hood with an approved
charcoal filter

) S
- —_ Bathroom Ventilation
Not required unless there 1s no window. If installed it must

“ t = bevented to the outside of the home not into the attic
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
g REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Clothes Dryer

Non-combustible metallic flex duct connecting the
dryer to the transition duct. The transition duct to
the OUTSIDE of the home must be smooth lined
metal duct. Dryer duct must be connected to a {
backdraft with a damper

77
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

<

Fire Extinguishers

Fire extinguishers shall be
installed 1in Licensed
Residential Care Facilities 1n
accordance with the North
Carolina Fire Code.

*Required for facilities with 4 to 6
clients under 2018 North Carolina
State Building Code, 428.1.1
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Interior Finish
Any wood paneling must be treated with an approved fire retardant paint and

must meet a minimum Class ‘C’ or greater flame spread. If mill lumber with
Varnish is present in the home it must also be treated.
(Does not include knotty pine or cabinets).

*Required for facilities with 4 to 6
clients under 2018 North Carolina
State Building Codes, 428.2.3.

**DHSR also requires this protection
in any licensed facility with this type
of wood paneling. Treating wood
paneling is added protection for the
clients in the event of a fire.
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| MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
" REQUIREMENTS

(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

The listed paints or additives may be purchased from your local paint dealer, hardware
store, or you may search online to locate a dealer who sells the product. After your
purchase maintain copies of your receipts as verification of your purchase.

Flame Control - Fire .
2 Retardant Paint | FR-1 - Fire Retardant
d Contact: Flame Control : .| Paint Additive
| Coatings, LLC b for Water Based Latex
Phone: 716-282-1399 Paints
Contact: Project Fire
Fiffns . Safety, Inc.
Cugrd | Guard - Fire Retardant ’
| T T Phone: 800-468-2876

| Treatment for Water Based Latex Paints
== Contact: Hy-Tech Thermal Solutions
Phone: 321-984-9777
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Railings
Porches, balconies or raised floor
surfaces that are 30” or more above

grade must have guardrails not less than
36” in height.

*For the safety of clients, staff, and visitors, consideration
should be to provide railings for porches, balconies, or raised
floor surfaces regardless how far above grade.
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Emergency Egress

Every sleeping room must have at least
one operable window OR an exterior
door that i1s approved for emergency
egress. The window size and clear
opening must be in accordance with the
requirements at the time the facility was
built.

—
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Minimum Ceiling Height

Residential ceiling heights must be no less
than 7 feet for every room 1n the house.

Fioor Ares Discharge Relief Valve
The discharge relief valve should

terminate no less than 6” above the floor
and may be piped to the outside of the
home or piped to a drain pan (must not
terminate under the home). For example,
CPVC or Copper piping or other
material acceptable by Code.
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

2-Story Homes — Remote Exit

If the home 1s requesting 4 to 6 clients
or if the home is a two-story home, the
home must meet the requirements of
2018 NC Building Code, Section
428.2.1 which requires each normally
occupied story of the facility shall have
two remotely located exits.
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Manufactured/Mobile and Modular Home Use
Within the MHL Program

Manufactured/Mobile Homes may serve three or fewer residents
including occupants of the facility that require care by the caregivers

Manufactured/Mobile Homes may be licensed under .5600 Supervised
Living or .5100 Community Respite Services programs only

Modular Homes may serve any program as they are classified as Single
Family Residential

Manufactured/Mobile Homes and Modular Homes still require the
approvals from the local jurisdiction
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
REQUIREMENTS
(Apphcable Building Code Requirements)

Manufactured/Mobile and Modular Home Use
Within the MHL Program

How Manufactured/Mobile Homes are Identified

HUD Certification Label for v
Manufactured/Mobile Homes OEMCED B 7S 146 o m

. - icat | AAPTIRR ERFES 10T B G T
This label 1s the manufacturers certification that the T err ai‘ i TS

home was manufactured in accordance with HUD’s (BTG N TR ana gy S
Construction and Safety Standards that were in effect |SULAULALEETENISLREHIEIRISS
at the time the home was manufactured. The H?Ugémmgimwﬂﬁﬂgm%ﬁ m?mﬁfﬁgg ;
Certification Label is usually located on the |BT/730" s ITETE T R TINIRE
outside of the home, generally on the front, left

corner or on the rear, left corner. :
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MINIMUM PHYSICAL PLANT
——— REQUIREMENTS
(Applicable Building Code Requirements)

Manufactured/Mobile and Modular Home Use
Within the MHL Program

How Modular Homes are Identified

North Carolina Validation STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

MO_DULAR CONSTRUCTI?N
Stamp for Modular Homes AT e AP
&3 373
This label and the Building Manufacturer’s Data DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
. MANUFACTURED BUILDING DIVISION

Plate certifies the structure has been manufactured S Sy
and 1nspected in accordance with the North TR R
Carolina’s  inspection  requirements. The

Validation Stamp is usually located in the Serial No. 53247

cabinet above the range hood or in a utility
closet.
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Construction Section

Frequently asked questions

*|f the answer to questions you have are not in this presentation,
please contact the Construction Section Help Desk at (919) 855-3893

1/2024-TMS DHSR Construction Section MHL Physical Plant Licensure Requiremen ts 78



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

)

1. What are my options if my bedrooms don’t have the required square footage?

The Licensure Rules are the minimum requirements that all facilities to be licensed

are required to meet. It may be necessary to limit the capacity of the facility due to
bedroom sizes or renovate the facility to ensure the minimum requirements are met.

LU
i ¥
Y] ‘,»/:,,: ,;;w,,,r
: «WW(W(M(((((«(«[(«(i1’1i(ﬂ(({éirr((ﬂf(i/r//(///(//ﬁfk""
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

2. Can a client access a bedroom through another
client’s bedroom?

No. Access to clients’ bedrooms cannot be through
another room being occupied by a client as a bedroom.

3. If I don’t have built-in closets can it still be used
as a bedroom?

Yes, but a wardrobe, dresser, or other means to store
clothing and other personal items must be provided.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

4. I received notice from the Construction Section that my application has been
received. When will I get an inspection?

*  Once your application is received, the construction invoice outlining the
appropriate fee will be emailed to you.

* The construction fee must be returned and paid before a review and/or an initial
inspection can be done.

» [fan initial inspection is warranted in lieu of a review, an inspection will be
scheduled 3-4 weeks after payment is received. If your application is for 4 or
more ambulatory or non-ambulatory clients, a project plan review must be sent
out prior to any inspections being scheduled and performed.

» The individual listed on the application as the contact person will be notified to
schedule the inspection, so accurate information must be provided.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

5. Can Construction inspect my facility before I submit my application?

No. You will be invoiced by Construction. Once that fee has been paid Construction
will make an onsite inspection visit to your facility (if warranted).

6. Are my clients allowed to smoke in my facility?

House Bill 1294 Section 3, Article 1 of Chapter 122C of the General Statutes
prohibits smoking inside licensed facilities by any person living or employed at such

location.
o &

SMOKING
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

7. If T have a second story will I be required to install an exterior exit at that
location?

Yes. If you have 4 or more residents, even if the upstairs will be used as office space

for staff.

8. Will a handicap ramp be required?
Depends. If you provide services for a non-ambulatory client and those

non-ambulatory clients have a physical impairment that requires a handicap ramp;
i.e. wheelchair, walker, etc., then a ramp(s) will be required.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

9. Am I required to have a fire retardant on my interior walls?

If the walls have wood paneling, they must be treated with an approved™ fire
retardant paint unless documentation is provided that verifies the finish is a Class C
or higher. Knotty Pine, mill lumber with no varnish finish is acceptable. If mill
lumber has varnish it must be treated.

*Please see Slides #28 and #29 for more information on this.
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NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

The Application Review

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



ﬂ

* Policy = Clear simple statement of intent of what your
organization wants to do, a set of principles to guide

POl ICIesS d nd decisions and achieve outcomes.

Procedures

* Procedure = The steps to put the policy into action, who will
do what, what steps they need to take, what forms or
documents to use.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Mental Health Licensure Policies and Procedures Worksheets
|

Mental Health Licensure requires agencies to develop written policies and procedures (P&P). The P&Ps must be 2 s § : @
submitted to the Licensure and Training Consultant during the initial and some change review processes. e ‘.f

. @
L]
L]
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0 00
o 00
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For guidance on writing the agency policies and procedures, please refer to the FAQs on the DHSR Mental Health Seeetisrereyed ¢
Licensure and Certification Section website.

1. Use the policy worksheet to identify the specific page numbers where each policy and procedure is located in @ g o S
the P&P manual.

2. This worksheet must be completed and submitted alongside the agency's P&P manual. If it is incomplete or
incorrect, the P&P manual will be returned.

3. The P&P manual must be submitted as a single PDF.

4. The policy worksheet should be submitted as a separate PDF.

5. If "No"or "N/A" is checked, the agency must document and provide a reason in the comment section
explaining why it is submitted as No or N/A

6. Submitting flow charts as a policy is unacceptable.

Please note that this worksheet is not a substitute for the rules. Agencies are responsible for complying with
all applicable rules and statutes.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

FILLABLE FORM Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

Facility Name: MHL# Service Category(s):
Agency Name: County Tvpe of Review (Change or Initial):
Consultant Name: Date of Review:

Policy / Procedure Checklist

SUBCHAPTER G. RULFS FOR MENTAL HEALTH, DEVEFLOPMENTAL DISABILITIES, AND SUBSTANCE ABUSFE FACILITIES AND SERVICES

Policy Page Number JOA NCAC 27C .0201 Governing Body Policies Yes No Comments
Must be Entered

1. The procedure of defining the delegation of management authority
for the agency's operation and its services (the chain of command).

1

Procedure for the catena for discharge of the client from the
facility/agency:
e The reasons why a client might be discharged from the
program/agency and
e The notice period given and who the recipients of the
notice

3. Procedure on Client Record Management outlining how the
agency 1s managing client records, which include:

e Transportation of records when necessary

* Safeguarding records against loss, tampering, and
defacement

* Ensuring that authorized users can access records at all
times

e Maintaining the confidentiality of client records

* Prowiding access to information for clients

4. A procedure that outlines guidelines for safe transportation of
clients, tailored to their individual needs, including methods for
securing and accessing emergency information dunng transit.
5. Procedures outlining the composition and activities of a Quality
Assurance/Quality Improvement (QA/QI) committee. Activities
of the QA/QI should include:

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Health Service Regulation

Should | just use
someone else’s
Policies and
Procedures

Policies and procedures will vary
between facilities because they
reflect the values, approaches,
and commitments of an
organization

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services |
Division of Health Service Regulation = y

The Licensee/The Qualified Professional/Staff/Personnel

0@ "
1\ MITE

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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NC Department of Health and Human Services )
Division of Health Service Regulation y

The Qualified Professional

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Staff

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services j
Division of Health Service Regulation 2
Personnel Records

=

3= | Job Descriptions and
o P %& Degrees
Qualifications  Deg

Criminal Background
Check

Alternatives to
Restricted
Interventions

CPR/First Aid

| Special Populations
Training

General org/Client

o HCPR Verification Rights/ Confidentiality

O

Training Instructors

Credentials Medication Training

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Policy and Procedures

Training Curriculums

Mental Health Licensure requires the applicant/ licensee to submit the agency policies and procedures manual

MH Licensure Policies and Procedures Worksheet MUST be completed and attached to P&P. (The worksheet is
not a substitution for the rules. The licensee 1s responsible for complying with all applicable rules and statutes.

Submit the curriculum used to train staff to meet the needs of the population served. (Training must relate to the
population that will be served).

Instructor Credentials for staff training

Personnel Records

This includes All personnel working at the facility and with clienss. Direct Care, Qualified Professionals, Licensed Professionals, all staff)

Medication Adminsstration (RN, Pliysicians, licensed medical persons with a valid NC license)

Staff's Name and Date of Hire

CPR frainer certification(s)

A SIGNED Job Description (must be signed by the employee and employer)

Furst Ad trainer certification(s)

The Qualified Professional's (QP) and Staff resume or application must be submitted.

Verification of Education (An education background check confirms a person’s education claims. Examples
are transcripts, diplomas or official web-based educational verification services). See below for LP's

Alternatives to Restrictive Training (De-escalation tramnmng) frainer certification(s)

Licensed Professionals (LPs): Professional license verification

Restrictive Intervention Traming frainer certification(s)

Health Care Personnel Registry Verification checks (including the Licensee & affiliates with direct client care access)

Must be completed within 90 days of Licensure review.

Disaster Plan

*State/National criminal check documentation Criminal Check(s) must be completed within 180 days of initial
licensure review

Written Disaster Plan *

Must nclude documentation that the local county emergency management services reviewed the plan

Physical and Tuberculosts Screening (per agency policy)

General organization orentation (organization of agency) tramning

Additional Documentation

Trawning i Client Rights

For 24-hour facilifies: Facility Rules (house rules) about clients' rights (i.e., making & receiving phone calls;
receiving visitors; being outdoors, exercise; personal clothing; religious worship; driver's license; individual storage
space; vocational training; access to own money)

Training in Confidentiality

Days and hours of operation/staff shift patterns and staff ratios for each service category.

Training to meet the needs of the population served - based on licensure category (tramning must reflect the
population served at the facility).

Facility Pet(s) current vaccination records, if applicable

First Aid Tramnmg

If a new Licensee must submit NCID USER NAME (not password) before Licensure. The directions to
secure NCID at Enterprise website under Training - It is the Register and Log In Job Aid.

CPR Heimlich Maneuver or equivalent. Will not accept if a conrse training is online only.

Medication Admunsstration Tramng (RN, pharmacist or MD privileged fo administer medications is allowed
fo teach. Medication training must be specific to the facility and in-person training.

Trammng m mfectious Diseases and Bloodbome Pathogens

Training in Alternatives to Restrictive Interventions (all staff must have De-Escalation Training)

Traming in Seclusion. Physical Restraint & Isolation Time-Out IN PERSON TRAINING
All staff must be trained if the facility unlizes restrictive interventions.

!Lisl.-!pproved Curricula for the use of De-Escalation and Restrictive Inren'enrionsl

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

*For applicants trying to contact the "local authority," North Carolina's Division of Emergency Management has a list of
phone numbers for each county’s Emergency Management(EM) office on their website: https://www.ncdps. gov/emergency-
management/em-community/directories/counties

Camera/video recording are prohibited in private areas, such as bedrooms and bathrooms, except in
3600 Service Category UA restrooms. Cameras in common areas must not be positioned fo capture
private areas. If you have questions, please ask the Licensure & Training Consultant assigned to
Yyour application process.

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Criminal Background Checks
vy
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Health Care Personnel Registry
Verifications

N.C. Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Health Service Regulation
Health Care Personnel Registry Section

Home | Education Office | About Us

Verify Registry Listings

Data Provided by this Search Page
Confirmation Numbers

Start Registry Verification

Verify Home Care Aide Specialty Training
Who Must Access Registry Verification
Work Restrictions

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Training in Alternatives to Restrictive Interventions and Physical
Restraint Training.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://[www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Job Descriptions and Education

Verification

The challenges of
writing good job

descriptions

-

pensationinsider.com

This Phoig by Unknown Autbaric licansad yndar CC BY-NC

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section
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CPR and First Aid Training

This Phota byl lnknnWr CCBY.SANC
Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Other Trainings

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://[www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Medication Administration Training
In-Person

P — —

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Additional Documentation

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Register for an NCID

NGl QD;'-:

NCID

Trouble Signing On?

Don't have an account? Register Now

Need Help?

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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The Walk-Through

Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

Facility Walk-Through Attestation

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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The Walk-Through Checklist

+

?\\"*’ Medication Storage

)

First Aid Kits for

=14 Client Record
facility and vehicle(s)

storage area

A\

"W Disaster Plan caon | Hot water checks

} waler

Hazardous Storage
area Y

Furnishings Fire Extinguisher(s) Various postings

*, : . .
e ~ =« |Evacuation diagram

08

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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.
Facility Walk-Through Attestation

walk-Through attestation must be signed below, attesting that you and the Licensure & Training Consultant completed a virtual or onsite

Facility Name: MHL#:

Site Address: FID%: _D Adults
Agency Person Present: Persons Email:

Capacity Approved: Category(s) Approved: ___

L&T Team Member: Effective Date of Licensure:

Hot Water
Hot water that is accessible to clients must be maintained 100-116 deg Fahrenheit
Room Temperature Notes
Residential Bedrooms (must be furnished ot time of walk-through) Yes | No | NA Notes

The bedrooms presented during the walk-through are
the bedrooms approved by DHSR Construction

Bed(s) (in addition, bedding and linens for each bed)

Personal storage for personal belongings

Bedside table(s)/ Night Stands

Windows in Client bedrooms open fully

Client bedrooms CANNOT have locking systems on doors
that prevent a client from exiting the room if inside.

Day Program Areas Yes No | NA Notes

Furnished reception area

Furnished group rooms

Other furnishings (per service category)

Medication Storage Yes No | NA Notes

Securely locked

Other Storage Yes | No | NA Notes
Hazardous Chemical Storage Areas(s)
Client Records storage in a confidential area

Conspicuous (Visible) Postings in Public Areas Yes | No | NA Notes

DHSR Hotline Number (1-800-624-3004)

te.

No Smoking Signs

Emergency Diagrams: Document the meeting location where
headcount is performed and document the exit route

Fire Extinguishers Yes | No | NA Notes
Operable Fire Extinguisher

Safety Yes | No | NA Notes
The surrounding area is in a safe and healthy environment

Unobstructed hallways and doorways

Safe and clean conditions on the exterior and interior

Additi quil Yes | No | NA Notes

Designated operable phone (Phone is stationed and accessible
ot facility ot all times)
First Aid kit available for facility

First Aid kit available for vehicle

The disaster plan (location of the plan at the facility)

CAMERAS ves | mo | wa | Notes

Video/camera equipment in the facility (list locations) No Cameras
llowable in private areas

Li /Desi Si Date:

Additional Comments:

To ensure no DELAY in Licensure. If you do not have an NCID, apply for an NCID. When NCID is secured send

Separate storage for each client

Storage for refri d medication

inf jon to tonya.bri nc.gov

It may take up to 3 weeks for a paper copy or new MHL # to be generated.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Hot Water

feel
T N
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Evacuation Plans

Escape Plan Example

* Document Route of exit

* Document Meeting Place

Rewting Plece

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Are you Ready?

e Required policies and procedures are developed and documented

e Key personnel are secured, and personnel records are compiled

e Zoning & building inspections are accurate

e Fire and Sanitation current

e Facility is clean, furnished and ready to accept clients

e Ensuring you demonstrate competency and compliance with all licensure rules

the facility is ready to accept a resident!

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Licensed!

The Licensure & Training Consultant will notify you when you are
able to begin operating and accepting residents!
“Yes, I Ready”

Barbara
Mason

FYL.. ool

MHLC does not assist you in finding residents, nor
do they refer residents to your facility.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

After 6 months, the application will be rescinded

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



Renewing your license
Annually
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Annual Surveys

Performed to determine compliance or non-compliance of key
rules.

The surveyor focuses on the rule areas with the greatest impact
on the health, safety and welfare of clients.

Findings indicating non-compliance trigger a more detailed and
comprehensive survey of that specific rule area and related
rules.

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Compliance Vs Non-compliance




24 hours a day 7 days a week of
responsibility.
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Frequently Asked Questions
can be found on the DHSR Web page

: \‘ ¥
:, l b
) kA

v

allod |

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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THANK YOU

The Licensure & Training Team
Stacy Silvia| Team Leader
Arlean Brooks| LTC
Miguel Sabillon| LTC
Natalie Haith-Edwards| LTC

Savannah Alford| LTC

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Resources

NCAC Rules and General Statutes
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Contact Information

Division of Health Service Regulation
Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section
2718 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2718

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/mhlcs/mhstaff.html

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Office Location

Physical Address: 1800 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603
Mailing Address: 2718 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2718
Telephone: 919-855-3795

Fax: 919-715-8078

Website: Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

Email: MHLC.Support@dhhs.nc.gov

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation

Forms

Initial Mental Health Licensure Application

Mental Health Change of Licensure Application
Facility Walk-Through Form
List of Needed Materials for Initial and Change Licensure review

Policies & Procedures Worksheets

Provider Forms
N.C. Licensed Care Facilities Disaster Plan Portal

e You must have an NCID account to access the portal.
e you can register for a free NCID account online.

Emergency Relocation of Clients form

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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DHSR Website

You can download and print Mental Health Rules and General
Statutes at

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/mhlcs/rules.htmlttrules

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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DHSR Enterprise

Register or sign in to DHSR Enterprise

Renew Application Sign-In

DHSR Enterprise Training

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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LME/MCO

DMH/DD/SAS LME/MCO Contact Information
e http://www.ncdhhs.gov/mhddsas/Imeonbluebyname.htm

e http://www.ncdhhs.gov/mhddsas/Imeonblue.htm

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Emergency Management Information for Disaster
Plans

North Carolina's Division of Emergency Management has a list of
phone numbers for each county's Emergency Management (EM)
office on their web site: https://www.ncdps.gov/emergency-
management/em-community/directories/counties

or call 919-825-2500

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr
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Service Definition Questions?

Send the emails to BHIDD.HelpCenter@dhhs.nc.gov

Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr



