

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure & Certification Section

# Initial

# **Licensure Application Packet**

Form# DHHS/DHSR/MHL5001 Revised 11/15/2024

Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr Tel 919-855-3795 • Fax 919-715-8078 Location: Williams Building • 1800 Umstead Drive • Raleigh, NC 27603 Mailing Address: 1800 Umstead Drive • 2718 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, NC 27699-2718 An Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer



#### N.C. Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section 1800 Umstead Drive 2718 Mail Service Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718

#### Memorandum

To:Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Facility Licensure ApplicantsFrom:Mental Health Licensure and Certification SectionRe:Initial Licensure Application Packet

You may find helpful information regarding how to establish a mental health facility on our <u>DHSR</u> website. The Facility Licensure Information link and The F and Q pages are great resources to review.

Enclosed you will find an Initial Licensure Application Packet. The packet includes the following:

- Licensure Application Process
- Initial Licensure Application
- Photographs sheet
- MH Licensure Policies and Procedures Worksheets

The following rules are essential for all licensed mental health facilities to help formulate the required Operations and Management Policies, Guidelines and Procedures (download for free at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/mhlcs/rules.html).

- 10A NCAC Chapter 26 Mental Health, General Subchapter C Other General Rules
- 10A NCAC Chapter 27 Mental Health, Community Facilities and Services Subchapter C Procedures and General Information Subchapter D General Rights Subchapter E Treatment or Habilitation Rights Subchapter F 24-Hour Facilities Subchapter G Rules for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Facilities and Services

Hard copies of these rules may be ordered from the Division of MH/DD/SAS:

- Phone: 984-236-5000
- E-mail: <u>contactdmh@dhhs.nc.gov</u>
- Mailing Address: 3001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-3001 (checks or money orders only made payable to Division of Mental Health)

The following NC General Statutes are essential for all licensed mental health facilities. Below is not an all-inclusive list; a complete list of NC General Statutes that govern licensed facilities are found at http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Statutes/StatutesTOC.pl

- NC GS 122C 6: Smoking Prohibited
- NC GS 122C 61: Treatment rights in 24-hour facilities
- NC GS 122C 62: Additional rights in 24-hour facilities
- NC GS 122C 63 Assurance for Continuity of Care for Individuals with Mental Retardation
- NC GS 122C 80 Criminal History; Record Check
- NC GS 131E 256 Health Care Personnel Registry

## LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS

An applicant is allowed six months from the date contact is made with applicant and a Licensure & Training team member to complete all requirements of application review to obtain a license. After initial licensure, the facility must have the license renewed every year.

In order to apply for a license from the Division of Health Service Regulation to operate a mental health facility as required under General Statute 122C, you must do the following:

- 1. Complete the application
  - (a) 24-hour Residential Programs:
    - Take the completed application (pages 9-14) to your local zoning office and obtain zoning compliance. Attach the zoning compliance letter to the application.
  - The zoning compliance letter from your local zoning department must clearly identify:
    - Facility address
    - Zoning code (must be correct zoning code see below chart)
    - Intended usage

# Your application will not be processed if your zoning compliance information does not contain and verify the correct zoning.

- Take the completed application (pages 9-14) to your area Local Management Entity-Managed Care Organization (LME-MCO) office and obtain a Letter of Support as per 10A NCAC 27G .0406. Attach LME-MCO support letter to the application. A Letter of Support is not required for services that have a Certificate of Need (CON) from DHSR, which currently is ICF/IID facilities.
- Submit all items listed in the **Requirements for 24-hour Residential Programs** box on page 7.
- Include initial licensure fee upon submitting all items.

(b) Day Programs:

- Take the completed application (pages 9-14) to your local zoning office and obtain zoning approval. Attach the zoning approval letter to the application.
- State Opioid Treatment Authority (SOTA) requires a preliminary program approval letter for all service category 3600 facilities.
- Submit all items listed in the **Requirements for Day Programs** box on page 8, including approved Fire Marshal, Sanitation and Building Officials inspection reports as required.
- Include initial licensure fee upon submitting all items.
- 2. Write a letter briefly describing the services you will offer at the proposed facility.
- 3. Develop written policies and procedures for your service. Do not submit your organization's P&P with the application, as they will be reviewed later.
- 4. Make check payable to: NC Division of Health Service Regulation
- 5. Send application with the required information to: Division of Health Service Regulation

MH Licensure & Certification Section 1800 Umstead Drive 2718 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-2718

\*Note: Before the construction of a *new residential* facility, you must submit blueprints and receive approval from the DHSR Construction Section. For information, contact DHSR Construction at 919-855-3893.

# N.C. Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation

Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section

2718 Mail Service Center ■ Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718

### Building Code Zoning Classifications - Requirements for Licensure Categories (revised 8-8-2013)

Program Code 10 NCAC 27G	Facility Type	Residential/ Institutional 24 hour programs	Building Classification	Code
.1100	Partial Hospitalization for individuals who are acutely mentally ill	No	Group B – Business Occupancy (Adults) Group E – Educational or I4 (minors)	а
.1200	Psychosocial Rehab for individuals with Severe and Persistent Mental Illness	No	Group B – Business Occupancy	а
.1300	Residential Treatment for Children or Adolescents	Yes	Residential – Classification dependent on number & ambulation status	b
.1400	Day Treatment for Children and Adolescents with Emotional or Behavioral Disturbances	No	Group E – Educational Occupancy or I-4	а
.1700	Residential Treatment Staff Secure for Children or Adolescents	Yes	Residential – Classification dependent on number & ambulation status	d
.1800	Intensive Residential Treatment for Children or Adolescents	Yes	Institutional Occupancy	е
.1900	Psychiatric Residential Treatment for Children and Adolescents	Yes	Institutional Occupancy	f
.2100	Specialized Community Residential Centers for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities	Yes	Residential or Institutional Occupancy	g
.2200	Before/After School and Summer Developmental Day Services for Children with or at Risk for Developmental Delays, Developmental Disabilities, or Atypical Development	No	Group E- Educational or I-4	а
.2300	Adult Developmental and Vocational Program for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities	No	Group B- Business Occupancy	а
.3100	Nonhospital Medical Detoxification for Individuals who are Substance Abusers	Yes	Institutional Occupancy	h
.3200	Social Setting Detoxification for Substance Abusers	Yes	Residential or Institutional Occupancy	m
.3300	Outpatient Detoxification for Substance Abuse	No	Group B – Business Occupancy	а
.3400	Residential Treatment/Rehabilitation for Individuals with Substance Abuse Disorders	Yes	Residential or Institutional Occupancy	i
.3600	Outpatient Opioid Treatment	No	Group B- Business Occupancy	а
.3700	Day Treatment Facilities for Individuals with Substance Abuse Disorders	No	Group B- Business Occupancy Group E – Educational or I4 (Minors)	а
.4100	Residential Recovery Programs for Individuals with Substance Abuse Disorders and their Children	Yes	Typically Group R – Residential	j
.4300	Therapeutic Community	Yes	Typically Group R – Residential	k
.4400	Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Program (SAIOP)	No	Group B – Business Occupancy (Adults) Group E – Educational or I4 (minors)	а

#### N.C. Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section 2718 Mail Service Center Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718

.4500	Substance Abuse Comprehensive Outpatient Treatment Program (SACOT) No Group B- Business Occ			а
.5000			Institutional Occupancy	I
.5100 Community Respite Services for Individuals of All Disability Groups		Yes	Typically Residential depending on the number of residents	m
.5200	Residential Therapeutic (Habilitative) Camps for Children and Adolescents of All Disability Groups	Yes	Wilderness Camp Settings	р
.5400	Day Activity For Individuals of All Disability Groups	No	Group B- Business Occupancy Group E – Educational or I4 (Minors)	а
.5500	Sheltered Workshops For Individuals of All Disability Groups	No	Group B- Business Occupancy	а
.5600	Supervised Living For Individuals of All Disability Groups	Yes	Residential	0
.6000	Inpatient Hospital Treatment for Individuals who have Mental Illness or Substance Abuse Disorders	Yes	Institutional Occupancy	Ι

Code	Program Type / Description
а	Day Program
b	Level II Clients
с	This program has been deleted
d	Level II clients (previously part of the .1300 program)
е	Level IV clients. Required to be a secured facility and Institutional – Unrestrained Occupancy (previously part of the .1500 program)
f	PRTF clients. May be staff secured or locked; still Institutional – Unrestrained Occupancy (previously part of the .1500 program)
g	Usually these are ICF/IID facilities and required to have a Certificate of Need (CON)
h	Institutional occupancy since providing medical treatment
i	Typically, not in a six-bed facility since requires CON
j	Program is for women and their children. Usually in apartment/motel situation but if less than six could be a home
К	Program is for adults and is usually in apartment/ motel situation but if less than six could be in a home
1	Requires Institutional Occupancy since requiring treatment
m	Typically, is a resident with another residential program. Could be part of a larger facility not residential
n	Support Services, not residential
0	Has six different programs5600A; .5600B; .5600C are limited to maximum of 6 clients5600F is limited to maximum of 3 clients in private residence.
р	Residential Camp
q	Any program not listed is not a licensed program by Mental Health

Programs typically licensed in Single-Family Dwellings and falling under G.S. 168 are: .1300, .1700, .2100, .5100 & .5600.

## License Fees: Initial License & Construction

All licensed facilities, residential and non-residential are required to pay an initial license and annual license renewal fee. NC General Statute 122C-23:

- Prohibits the issuance of the license until the license fee is paid.
- Mandates that licenses must be renewed annually and will expire at the end of the calendar year.

Please submit the Licensure fee with the application. <u>Do not</u> submit the Construction fee. Our Construction section will bill you for the applicable fee prior to conducting their site visit.

**Initial Licensure Fee NC General Statute 131E-272:** Following is a list of types of facilities with required fee, including the base fee and the per bed fee.

Type of Facility	Number of Beds	Base Fee	Per Bed Fee
Non-residential Facilities	0	\$265.00	N/A
Residential Facilities (Non-ICF/IID)	6 beds or less	\$350.00	\$0
Residential Facilities (Non-ICF/IID)	7 beds or more	\$525.00	\$19.00
ICF/IID* Facilities	6 beds or less	\$900.00	\$0
ICF/IID* Facilities	7 beds or more	\$850.00	\$19.00

\*ICF/IID: Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities, a specialized Medicaid facility requiring a Certificate of Need from the DHSR Certificate of Need Section.

**Construction Fees:** In addition to the license fee, the DHSR Construction Section has a per project fee to review the physical plant requirements for **24-hour residential facilities only.** You will receive an invoice from the Construction Section for the appropriate fee. Following is a list of fees:

Type of Facility	Number of Beds	Project Fee
Non-ICF/IID Facilities	1-3	\$125.00
Non-ICF/IID Facilities	4-6	\$225.00
Non-ICF/IID Facilities	7-9	\$275.00
ICF/IID Facilities	1-6	\$350.00
Other Residential	10 or more	\$275.00 + \$.15/sq. Ft. project space

#### **Contact Information**

For questions regarding any part of this process, please contact the appropriate section of the Division of Health Service Regulation or visit our website <u>https://.info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/</u>

Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section	919-855-3795
Construction Section	919-855-3893

# License Application Requirements & Checklists

Incomplete applications will be returned to the sender, without processing, accompanied by a letter explaining the incorrect or missing information. Please complete the appropriate checklist prior to submitting your license application

**Note:** Before the construction of a <u>new 24-hour residential</u> facility, you must submit blueprints and receive approval from the DHSR Construction Section. For additional information, contact DHSR Construction at 919-855-3893.

#### Please submit the information below:

- 1. A floor plan that specifies the following:
  - a) All levels, including basements and upstairs.
  - b) Identification and dimensions of the use of all rooms/spaces.
  - c) Dimensions of all bedrooms, excluding any toilets, bathing areas and closets. Clarify double or single occupancy.
  - d) Location of all doors and the dimensions of all exterior doors.
  - e) Location of all windows, including bedroom windows and sill height of bedroom windows above the finished floor.
  - f) Location of all smoke detectors noting whether they are battery-operated, wired into the house current with battery backup, and if they are interconnected.
- 2. Exterior photos of each side of the building.
- 3. Interior photos of the kitchen, living areas, bedrooms, and any other rooms.
- 4. Provide current *Secretary of State Report* (https://www.sosnc.gov/online\_services/search/by\_title/ \_Business\_Registration) documenting Active Status.
- 5. Local Zoning Department approval for the proposed use.
- 6. Letter of support from LME/MCO. Not required for ICF-IID facilities.
- 7. Certificate of Need: Required for any new ICF/IID facilities.
- 8. Appointments for Fire & Sanitation Inspections.

#### 24-Hour Residential Checklist

	Item	Completed
1.	Provide current Secretary of State Report (https://www.sosnc.gov/corporations) documenting Active Status.	
2.	Completed Initial Licensure Application (form DHSR 5001)	
3.	Fee	
4.	Floor Plan Identifying all spaces in the facility (all levels/floors, dimensions, doors, windows, smoke detectors, bathrooms, closets)	
5.	Pictures (Interior & Exterior)	
6	Directions to Facility if not findable on google maps	
7.	Zoning Approval (original) Required for application to move forward	
8.	LME-MCO Support Letter if not ICF-IID	
9.	Certificate of Need: If ICF-IID Facility	
10.	Appointments for Fire & Sanitation Inspections. Actual inspections are not needed when submitting the application but will be needed prior to DHSR Construction section approval.	

### **Requirements for Day Programs**

**Note:** Day Programs for children and adolescents <u>cannot</u> be located in a building classified as a Business Occupancy. These programs are required to meet either Group E-Educational Occupancy or Group I-4 - Child Daycare Occupancy under the NCSBC.

#### Please submit the following below:

- 1. A floor plan of the entire building or floor within the building of the space to be licensed that specifies the following:
  - a. Identification and dimensions of rooms to be licensed.
  - b. Exits from the licensed space and building.
  - c. Toilet areas and other required support spaces.
- 2. Exterior photos of each side of the building. Interior photos of the proposed licensed space.
- 3. Provide current *Secretary of State Report* (https://www.sosnc.gov/online\_services/search/by\_title/ \_Business\_Registration) documenting Active Status.
- 4. Local Zoning Department approval or verification that the facility is classified under building/planning for the intended use.
- 5. Current local Fire Marshal's Inspection Report for the building.
- 6. Current local Sanitation Inspection report if serving any food.
- 7. A preliminary program approval letter is required from the State Opioid Treatment Authority (SOTA) for all Service Category 3600 facilities.
- 8. New Construction/Renovation: the local Building Officials approval.
- 9. Existing Structure: If this is an existing Business Occupancy building (as classified under the North Carolina state building code) and it is only a change of tenant use (for a program that is classified as a 'Business Occupancy use') approval from the local Building Official may not be required. Contact your local Building Official and provide them with a copy of your application to verify if your program is classified as a Business Occupancy and if they need to provide any type of documentation.

	Item	Completed
1.	Secretary of State Report (https://www.sosnc.gov/corporations) documenting Active Status.	
2.	Completed Initial Licensure Application (form DHSR 5001)	
3.	Fee	
4.	Floor Plan with dimensions	
5.	Pictures (Interior & Exterior)	
6.	Directions to Facility if not findable using google maps	
7.	Zoning Approval (original) Required for application to move forward	
8.	Fire Inspection (clear copy or original)	
9.	Sanitation Inspection (clear copy or original) if serving food	
10.	Preliminary Program approval from SOTA (service category 3600)	
11.	Building Inspection (original) if applicable for new construction or renovation of building	

#### **Day Program Checklist**

### INITIAL LICENSURE APPLICATION FOR MH/DD/SAS FACILITIES

Include First Name, Middle Initial & Last Name for every person listed in the application

# Fillable Form

Office use only:	License Number: MHL#		FI	D#	
Name which	the facility is advertised or name in <u>all</u> inquiries.			ne that will be printed on yo	_ our license. Refer
	DRESS: ( <u>NO P.O. BOXES)</u>				
City:		State:	Zip Code:	County:	
Phone:		Email:			-
* Must have an opera available 24 hours.	ble facility designated tel	ephone that is clear	ly visible, accessible	e, on site and	
3. FACILITY CORRES	PONDENCE MAILING ADD	RESS:			
Name of Contact Perso	ON (Identified person will overse	ee application process): _			
Street Address:					
City:	9	State:	Zip Code:		
Phone:		Email:			
<ul> <li><b>4. NAME OF FACILITY DIRECTOR</b>: (First, MI, Last)</li></ul>					
				Date:	
		OFFICIAL US	E ONLY:		
Licensure Categories:_		Check # _		Check Amount	
sos	P Reques	st:			
PPT					
MFF					
ACCESS				Staff Initials:	
ΑCO					
Remarks:					

DHHS/DHSR-MHL/5001

**6. MANAGEMENT COMPANY:** If the facility is managed by a company **other than the licensee**, provide the following information about the Management Company:

Name of Company/Contact Person: \_\_\_\_\_\_

Street Address:				
City:	_State:	_Zip Code:		
Phone:	Email:			

7. LOCAL MANAGEMENT ENTITY/ MANAGED CARE ORGANIZATION (LME/MCO) (List name(s) of LME/MCOs with which the facility has a contract):\_\_\_\_\_\_

#### 8. LEGAL IDENTITY OF OWNERSHIP/LICENSEE:

The full legal name of the individual, partnership, corporation or other legal entity, which owns the mental health facility business, is required. Owner/Licensee means any person/business entity (Corp., LLC, etc.) that has legal or equitable title to or a majority interest in the mental health facility. This entity is responsible for the financial and contractual obligations of the business and will be **recorded as the licensee on the license**.

(a) Name of Corporation/Legal Entity:

Address:		
City:	_State:	Zip Code:
Phone:	_Email:	
(b) Federal Tax ID number of Owner/Licensee:		
(c) NATIONAL PROVIDER IDENTIFIER (NPI):		
	For	Health Care Providers
standard unique identifier for health care providers on health care providers and assigns each a unique regarding the NPI number, call the toll-free number provider-identifier <u>http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/NPI/index.htm</u>	. The Nationa <b>National Pro</b> v	nce Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) mandated the adoption of a I Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES) collects identifying information vider Identifier (NPI). If you have questions or need additional information 203 or visit the website: https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/claims-and-billing/national-
Corporation Corporation Partnership Governmer	)	Limited Liability Company Limited Liability Partnership Professional Limited Liability Company
(f) Name of CEO/President: :( First, MI, Last)		
Title:		
Street Address:		
		Zip Code:
Phone:	_Email:	

please provide the following		-	
Name of Building Owner: _			
Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	
Phone:	Email:		Lease expires:
9. <u>OWNERS, PRINCIPLES, AI</u>	FILIATES, SHAREHOLDERS (Confidentia For-Profit Individu		Only)
more of the licensing entity	elow on <u>all</u> individuals who are owners, r listed on page 2. Attach additional page the percentage interest as 100%.	principles, affiliates or share	
Shareholder Name: (First, N	/II, Last)		

Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	
Phone:	Email:		
Percentage interest in this facility: _	Title:		
Shareholder Name: (First, MI, Last)			
Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	
Phone:	Email:		
Percentage interest in this facility: _	Title:		
Shareholder Name: ( First, MI, Last)			
Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	
Phone:	Email:		
Percentage interest in this facility: _	Title:		
Non-Profit Companies and For-P	<u>rofit Companies</u> (If <u>no</u> individual holds	an interest of 5% or more, please sign the state	ment below.)
		n interest of 5% or more of the licensing en	
Signature	Title	Date	

#### **10. SERVICE CATEGORIES:**

Services subject to licensure under GS 122C are shown in the table below and are **found in the <u>Rules for Mental</u> <u>Health</u>**, <u>Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Facilities and Services</u>. All applicants must complete the following table for all services which are to be provided by the facility. If the service is not offered, leave the spaces blank.

Rule 10A NCAC 27G Licensure Rules For Mental Health Facilities	Check Service of License	Beds Assigned by Age		
		0-17	18 & up	Total Beds
.1100 Partial hospitalizations for individuals who are acutely				
mentally ill. Does not encompass SUD as a primary D/O				
.1200 Psychosocial rehabilitation facilities for individuals				
with severe and persistent mental illness				
.1300 Residential treatment facilities for children or				
adolescents—Level II (Max. of 12 clients)				
.1400 Day treatment for children and adolescents with				
emotional or behavioral disturbances				
.1700 Residential treatment Staff Secure for Children or				
Adolescents—Level III (Max of 12 clients)				
.1800 Intensive residential treatment for children or				
adolescents (Level IV)				
.1900 PRTF – Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility for				
minors who are emotionally disturbed or who have a mental				
illness.				
.2100 Specialized community residential centers for				
individuals with developmental disabilities. (Max. of 30				
clients) (CON Required if ICF/IID)				
.2200 Before/after school and summer developmental day				
services for children with or at risk for developmental				
delays, developmental disabilities, or atypical development				
.2300 Adult Developmental and vocational programs for				
individuals with developmental disabilities				
.3100 Non-hospital medical detoxification for individuals				
who are substance abusers				
.3200 Social setting detoxification for substance abuse				
.3300 Outpatient detoxification for substance abuse				
.3400 Residential treatment/rehabilitation for individuals				
with substance abuse disorders				
.3600 Outpatient narcotic addiction treatment (preliminary				
SOTA Authorization letter required)				
.3700 Day treatment facilities for individuals with substance				
abuse disorders				
.4100 Therapeutic homes for individuals with substance				
abuse disorders and their children (min. 3 clients)				
.4300 A supervised therapeutic community for individuals				
with substance abuse disorder	ļ [			
.4400 Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Program				
.4500 Substance Abuse Comprehensive Outpatient is a periodic service that is a time-limited, multi-faceted approach treatment service for adults who require structure and support to achieve and sustain recovery.				

Rule 10A NCAC 27G	Check		Beds Assigned by Age	
Licensure Rules for Mental Health Facilities	Service of License	0-17	18 & up	Total Bed
.5000 facility based crisis service for individuals of all	2.001150			. 5101 DCu
disability groups				
.5100 Community Respite services for individuals of all				
disability groups				
.5200 Residential therapeutic (habilitative) camps for				
children and adolescents of all disability groups				
.5400 Day activity for individuals of all disability groups				
.5500 Sheltered workshops for individuals of all disability				
groups				
. 5600 supervised living for indi	viduals of all	disabilit	y groups –	
NOTE: Only <u>one</u> category (A, B, C, D, E	or F) can be c	hecked	for .5600 facilities	
5600 <b>A</b> Group homes for <u>adults</u> whose primary diagnosis is				
mental illness (Max. of 6 clients)				
5600 <b>B</b> Group homes for <u>minors</u> whose primary diagnosis is				
mental retardation or other developmental disabilities				
(Max. of 6 clients) (CON required only if ICF/IID)				
.5600 <b>C</b> Group homes for <u>adults</u> whose primary diagnosis is				
mental retardation or other developmental disabilities				
(Max. of 6 clients) (CON required only if ICF/IID)				
.5600 <b>D</b> Group homes for <u>minors</u> with substance abuse				
problems				
.5600 <b>E</b> Half-way houses for <u>adults</u> with substance abuse problems				
.5600 <b>F</b> Alternative family living – providing service in own				
private residence (Max. 3 clients)				
DO YOU HAVE A CERTIFICATE OF NEED? <u>Required</u> for ICF/II No Yes If yes, CON Number:		-		
Do you plan on serving clients requiring blood sugar che	cks? Yes	1	No	
If yes <u>and</u> your staff will be conducting blood sugar checks, you must apply for		ے fore cond		contact DHSR'
me Care section's CLIA branch for information on obtaining CLIA waiver: https				
NUMBER OF CLIENTS FOR WHICH THE FACILITY IS GOIN				
Type			Specify Number to be Lic	ensed
Ambulatory*			- *	
, Non-Ambulatory, 1-3				

Non-Ambulatory, 4 or more

Ambulatory: Is a person who can evacuate the facility without physical or verbal assistance during a fire or other emergency.

#### 14. NUMBER AND AGE(s) OF PEOPLE OTHER THAN CLIENTS RESIDING WITHIN THE FACILITY:

(Applicable only in categories where a private residence is allowable: .5600F & .5100 Private Home Respites)

Are any of the above people listed non-ambulatory?

Yes No

An interpretation the NC Department of Insurance determined in June of 1998. that any child under the age of six residing in a licensed Home (MHL, FCH or Child Care etc.) is considered non-ambulatory and, as such, must be considered as part of the home's licensed census, as the child will require attention in addition, to the care the licensed clients of the home will also require, this would also apply for an aged or disabled family member that needs assistance residing the home.

# **PHYSICAL PLANT**

Please fill in information for each inspection Department:					
Zoning Department Official					
• •					
Street Address:					
City:					
Phone:	Email:				
Local Building Official					
Department Name:					
Street Address:					
		State:			
Phone:	Email:				
Local Fire Marshall					
Street Address:					
City:					
Phone:	Email:				
Local Sanitation					
Department Name:					
Street Address:					
City:		State:	_ Zip Code:		
Phone:	Email:				
Building Information: Complete for Has the building housed a licens If Yes: Type of licensed facility:	ed facility pr	reviously? Yes No			
Previous License #: Does this building(s) contain fact for? Yes No If yes, please clarify type of licen Is the building a site constructed	ilities license	ed for a different use other than the o		ought	
NOTE: If it is a manufactured/i	mobile home, co	ntact the DHSR Construction Section for licensure	limitations on this type of structure)		

If it is a manufactured/mobile home, was it built after 1976? Yes 🗌 No 🗌

# **PHOTOGRAPHS**

Name of Facility: \_\_\_\_\_

County: \_\_\_\_\_

Please attach/insert photos of your facility, as required, to this sheet and add other blank sheets as needed. **Please label each photograph as to the identity of the room** within the facility. {If original photos are submitted <u>on the</u> <u>back of the photo, identify</u> with the name and address of the facility (to help identify pictures should photos get separated)}.

# DO NOT SEND Policies and Procedures with this applciation

An applicant is allowed six months from the date contact is made with applicant and a Licensure & Training team member to complete the program review of the application process.

- A person from the L&T team will contact you to begin the program review. Your six months' time frame begins from the initial contact with the L&T team member.
- Please note if you are a residential service, the application must be processed with DHSR construction. DHSR construction time is separate from the MHLC timeframe.
- The amount of time it takes to complete an application process is driven by the readiness of the applicant
- The L&T Team has a goal to get you licensed a lot sooner than 6 months, but you must be ready for the Licensure & Team Program Review to do this.

A full list of the <u>required materials</u> that will be reviewed can be found on the DHSR website under the <u>forms and applications</u> section. In addition, the <u>policies and procedures worksheet</u> that must accompany your policies and procedures can be found under the <u>forms and applications</u> section.