

## North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation Mental Health Licensure and Certification

2718 Mail Service Center • Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2718 http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/

Beverly Eaves Perdue, Governor Lanier M. Cansler, Secretary Stephanie Alexander, Chief Phone: 919-855-3795 Fax: 919-715-8078

## **NOTICE**

To: Licensed Mental Health Providers

From: Stephanie Alexander

**Date:** July 15, 2011

Re: Civil Penalty

This memo outlines the statutory responsibilities of licensed mental health providers regarding inspections by the Division of Health Service Regulation.

**G.S. §122C-25(a)** states "The Secretary shall make or cause to be made inspections that the Secretary considers necessary. Facilities licensed under this Article shall be subject to inspection at all times by the Secretary."

**G.S. §122C-24.1(e)** states "The Department shall impose a civil penalty of fifty dollars (\$50.00) per day on any facility which refuses to allow an authorized representative of the Department to inspect the premises and records of the facility."

Licensees failing to comply with the above requirements to permit access to the facility and/or records during a Division of Health Service Regulation survey will be assessed a civil penalty of \$50.00 per day until access to the facility is granted.



