Medication Aide — Nursing Home
General Information

History

Effective July 1, 2006, North Carolina state laws added a medication aide registry for long-term
care facilities (skilled nursing and nursing facilities) and oversight of the competency testing
program. The medication aide registry operates under North Carolina rules and statutes for
nursing homes (N.C. § 131E-114.2(b); N.C. 8 131E-270; and 10A NCAC 130 .0202).

North Carolina Registries

To work as a Medication Aide in a nursing home, an individual must be:

¢ listed on the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for Nursing Homes.

e listed on the North Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry.

e listed on the North Carolina North Carolina Health Care Personnel Registry for
unlicensed healthcare personnel with no substantiated findings.

Per G.S. 131E-270(c), Medication Aides who have a substantiated finding, as defined in G.S.
131E-256(a)(1), on the North Carolina Health Care Personnel Registry are prohibited from
working in a nursing home.

A listing on the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for Nursing Homes does not qualify an
individual to administer medications in an Adult Care facility.

North Carolina does not list Medication Aides by reciprocity, endorsement, or transfer from
other states.

Education Requirements And Competency Testing

An individual must pass a 24-hour North Carolina Board of Nursing-approved medication aide
training program and pass the North Carolina state-approved competency examination to be
listed on the Medication Aide Registry for Nursing Homes.

An individual cannot be listed on the Medication Aide Registry for Nursing Homes without
first being listed on the Nurse Aide | Registry.

Where To Find A Training Program

For course information, contact your local community college, area health education center
(AHEC), your employer, or the North Carolina Board of Nursing.

The North Carolina Board of Nursing maintains a list of instructors who are certified to teach the
medication aide course.
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http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-114.2.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-270.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2013%20-%20nc%20medical%20care%20commission/subchapter%20o/subchapter%20o%20rules.pdf
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#S
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-270.html
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#S
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-256.html
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-256.html
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#R
http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/about-us/main-campuses
http://www.ncahec.net/
http://www.ncahec.net/
http://www.ncbon.com/
http://www.ncbon.com/

Renewal

A listing on the Medication Aide Registry for Nursing Homes must be renewed every 24
consecutive months.

An individual must re-train and re-test if they do not meet the eligibility requirements for
renewal.

Employer Responsibilities

Before allowing a Medication Aide to work in a nursing home facility, the following activities
must be completed:
o Verify that the individual is listed in active status on the North Carolina Medication Aide
Registry for Nursing Homes.
o Verify that the individual is listed in active status on the North Carolina Nurse Aide |
Registry.
e Verify that the individual has no substantiated findings on the North Carolina Health
Care Personnel Registry.
e Keep a record of accessing the above registries in your business files (e.g., the date and
confirmation number assigned during access).
e A clinical skills validation, conducted by a Registered Nurse, is required before the
Medication Aide performs medication administration tasks in the facility.
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