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State Regulations

Regulatory information for the Medication Aide in a long-term care
facility (skilled nursing and nursing facilities) are under state nursing
home rules and statutes:

* N.C. 8§ 131E-114.2(b)
N.C. 8§ 131E-256

N.C. 8 131E-270

N.C. 8§ 90-171.56
10ANCAC 130 .0201
10A NCAC 130 .0202
21 NCAC 36 .0401
21 NCAC 36 .0403
21 NCAC 36 .0406



https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-114.2.pdf
https://www.ncleg.net/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_131e/gs_131e-256.html
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_131E/GS_131E-270.pdf
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_90/GS_90-171.56.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2013%20-%20nc%20medical%20care%20commission/subchapter%20o/10a%20ncac%2013o%20.0201.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2013%20-%20nc%20medical%20care%20commission/subchapter%20o/10a%20ncac%2013o%20.0202.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2021%20-%20occupational%20licensing%20boards%20and%20commissions/chapter%2036%20-%20nursing/21%20ncac%2036%20.0401.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2021%20-%20occupational%20licensing%20boards%20and%20commissions/chapter%2036%20-%20nursing/21%20ncac%2036%20.0403.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2021%20-%20occupational%20licensing%20boards%20and%20commissions/chapter%2036%20-%20nursing/21%20ncac%2036%20.0406.html

Unlicensed Assistive Personnel (UAP)

Per the North Carolina Board of Nursing:

"Unlicensed assistive personnel” is an umbrella term used to describe
unlicensed health care assistants that have been trained to provide
certain tasks of client care as directed by a licensed health care provider.

Unlicensed Assistive Personnel (UAP) include but are not limited to the
following specific job titles:

* Nurses Aides (NA)

 Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA)
« Patient Care Aides (PCA)

 Home Health Aides (HHA)

« Patient Care Technicians (PCT)

» Medical Office Assistants (MOA)

* Medical Assistants (MA)

« Medication Aides (Med Aide)

« Medication Technicians (Med Tech)




Unlicensed Assistive Personnel (UAP)

Unlicensed Assistive Personnel may work in a variety of healthcare
settings including, but not limited to:

Hospitals

Skill nursing facilities
Home care

MD practices

Various community health environments (i.e., schools, correctional
facilities, clinics)

Refer to the Decision Tree for Delegation to UAP for more information on
appropriate delegation to Unlicensed Assistive Personnel.



https://www.ncbon.com/vDownloads/Position-Statements-Decision-Trees/decision-tree-delegation-to-uap.pdf

History

Effective July 1, 2006 (Senate Bill 622), North Carolina state laws
added a medication aide registry for long-term care facilities (skilled
nursing and nursing facilities) and oversight of the competency

evaluation program.




Education Requirements

Individuals must be a Nurse Aide |I.

Medication Aide training program for nursing homes is regulated by
the North Carolina Board of Nursing.

Individuals must hold a high school diploma or GED.

Individuals must successfully complete a 24-hour Medication Aide
training program approved by the North Carolina Board of Nursing.

An individual must retrain and retest if they do not meet the eligibility
requirements for renewal.




Education Requirements

To find a Medication Aide training program for nursing homes,
contact:

» Local community colleges

» Area health education centers (AHEC)
* North Carolina Board of Nursing

* Your employer

Click here for a list of instructors for the Medication Aide training
program for nursing homes provided by the North Carolina Board of
Nursing.

Click here to review the position statement by the North Carolina
Board of Nursing.



https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/about-us/main-campuses
https://www.ncahec.net/
https://www.ncbon.com/
https://www.ncbon.com/practice-medication-aides
https://www.ncbon.com/myfiles/downloads/position-statements-decision-trees/medication-aide.pdf

Employer Responsibilities

Before allowing an individual to work as a Medication Aide in a
nursing home, the following activities must be completed:

« Ensure that the individual is listed in active status on the North
Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry.

« Ensure that the individual is listed in active status on the North
Carolina Medication Aide Registry for nursing homes.

« Ensure that the individual has no substantiated findings on the North
Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry, North Carolina Medication Aide
Registry for nursing homes, and the North Carolina Health Care
Personnel Registry.

- Keep a record of accessing the above registries in your business files
(e.g., the date and confirmation number).

« Aclinical skills validation, conducted by a Registered Nurse, is
required before the Medication Aide performs medication
administration tasks in a facility.



https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#S

State-Approved Competency Exam

Credentia;

« State-approved competency examination vendor for North Carolina.
* Click here to go to Credentia’s website.

« Utilize the candidate handbook to prepare for an exam.
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https://credentia.com/test-takers/ncma
https://credentia.com/storage/nc/nc-med-aide-handbook-(final).pdf

State-Approved Competency Exam

Fees:
Exam Type Fee
Written Examination (initial) $59

Written Examination (re-test) $59
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State-Approved Competency Exam

FOR TEST SITES ONLY:

If there is a chance you will be experiencing inclement weather that
may affect testing, please follow the steps below.

* If you decide to cancel a test due to inclement weather during
Credentia's business hours (8:30am to 5:00pm), please email
facilitysupport@getcredentia.com and copy
programcoordinatorteam@getcredentia.com.

The coordinator team will work with you to reschedule testing.

« If you decide to cancel a test due to inclement weather after
Credentia's business hours, please call 1-800-563-4013.

» The coordinator team will reach out to you during business hours to
reschedule testing.
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mailto:facilitysupport@getcredentia.com
mailto:programcoordinatorteam@getcredentia.com

Registry

Medication Aide’s are responsible for renewing their listing
using the online renewal process prior to the expiration date.

An individual cannot be listed on the North Carolina Medication Aide
Registry for nursing homes without first being listed on the North
Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry.

Click here to verify a listing on the North Carolina Nurse Aide |
Registry and the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for nursing
homes.

North Carolina does not list Medication Aides by reciprocity,
endorsement, or transfer from other states.

13


https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/index1.jsp#registryrenewal
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/verify_listings1.jsp
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#R

Registry

Click here to obtain the Name and Address Change Form for the
North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for nursing homes. It is the
responsibility of the Medication Aide to update their name and
address in the registry.

14


https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/index1.jsp#forms

Registry

Renewal Requirements:

 Alisting on the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for
nursing homes must be renewed every 24 consecutive months.

 |f a Medication Aide does not perform at least eight (8) hours of

gualified work during any 24-consecutive month period, then they
must retrain and retest.

 Qualified work must occur in a North Carolina nursing home and
meet all the following criteria:

— The work is for pay (monetary compensation).
— The duties are those of a Medication Aide.
— The duties are supervised by a Registered Nurse.

— The number of hours worked is at least eight (8) during the
Medication Aide's 24-consecutive month registry listing period.

15



Registry

Online Renewal Process:

 DHSR is no longer accepting the paper renewal form effective August 31,
2021.

« Medication Aides should renew their listing using the Online Renewal
Form.

» A Registered Nurse should verify the Medication Aide’s employment
using the Online Employment Verification Form.

» Both forms must be submitted to DHSR before the Medication Aide’s
listing expires in the Medication Aide Registry for nursing homes.

Click here to learn more about renewing a
listing on the Medication Aide Registry for nursing homes.
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https://ncnarforms.ncdhhs.gov:8443/MARenewallogin.aspx
https://ncnarforms.ncdhhs.gov:8443/MARNlogin.aspx
https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/index1.jsp#registryrenewal

Registry

Renewal Listing Period Calculation:

The renewal listing period is calculated from the last date of qualified
work that was reported on the Online Employment Verification Form
by the Registered Nurse. Expiration dates are extended to the last

day of the month.
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https://ncnarforms.ncdhhs.gov:8443/MARNlogin.aspx

Registry

Nursing Homes:

« May not employ a Medication Aide who has a substantiated
finding of resident abuse, neglect, exploitation, or misappropriation
of resident property in the North Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry,
the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for nursing homes,
and the North Carolina Health Care Personnel Reqistry for
unlicensed healthcare personnel.

Adult Care Homes:

« Alisting on the North Carolina Medication Aide Registry for
nursing homes does not qualify an individual to administer
medications in an adult care home.

18


https://ncnar.ncdhhs.gov/gloss.html#S

Who to Contact for Assistance

DHSR Registry Office:

* Hours: 8am-5pm, Monday-Friday

Telephone: 919-855-3969 (Monday-Friday; 8am-12pm; 1pm-3pm)
Fax: 919-733-9764

Email: dhsr.registry@dhhs.nc.gov

Address: 801 Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603

N.C. Board of Nursing:

* Click here to obtain contact information.

N.C. Community College System
» Click here to learn more about main campuses and remote locations.
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mailto:dhsr.registry@dhhs.nc.gov
https://www.ncbon.com/contact-contact-information
https://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/about-us/main-campuses

