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MEMORANDUM 

 

TO:   Certified Assisted Living Administrators 

 

FROM:  Scott Ashley, Star Rating Administrator 

 

DATE:  April 28, 2017 

 

RE:  Administrator Certification-Additional Rules 

 

New rules governing adverse action and renewal of administrator certifications became effective on April 1, 2017.  These rules are 

10A NCAC 13F .1702 and 10A NCAC 13F .1703 (attached).  They were adopted by the Medical Care Commission at its February 

meeting after all the requirements of rulemaking in G.S. 150B had been fulfilled, including publication in the NC Register for public 

review and comment.  These rules will soon be posted on our website, https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/rules.html 

 

The following applies, beginning April 1, 2017, based on the new rules: 

 

Adverse Action on Certification in 13F .1702 

 

 Establishes criteria to allow the Department to deny, suspend, or revoke an administrator’s certification.  These criteria 

include the following: 

a) Failure to complete the required number of continuing education credits for their renewal 

b) Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor based on the date of conviction, circumstances 

surrounding the commitment of the crime and the nexus between the crime and duties of an 

administrator 

c) Worked as an administrator of an adult care home or family care home whose license was 

summarily suspended or a notice of revocation was issued to the facility.  A review of the 

circumstances and factors will be completed. 

d) Inability to perform as administrator with reasonable skill and safety due to a health condition that 

may endanger the health and safety of residents 

e) Tested positive for a controlled substance or refused consent to drug testing according to              

G.S. 131D-45 

f) Has a finding on the North Carolina Health Care Personnel Registry pursuant to G.S. 131E-256 

g) Failure to report any arrest or conviction for a felony or misdemeanor to the Department within 10 

days 

h) Arrest because of criminal conduct and determined that action must be taken in order to protect 

residents pending adjudication by a court 
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Renewal of Administrator Certification in 13F .1703 

 

 Provides the continuing education requirements and examples of coursework/training for the renewal of an assisted 

living administrator’s certification.  These requirements are as follows: 

a) Thirty (30) hours of continuing education (CE) for recurring renewals.  CE hours are prorated for 

an initial renewal  

b) Renewal fee of thirty ($30.00) dollars  

c) Examples of coursework  are related to long-term care management or the care of aged and 

disabled persons  

 

Additional Points of Interest (Effective April 1, 2017) 

 

 If an administrator allows their certification to lapse, all requirements of administrator certification will have to be met 

and submitted to our office in order to obtain a new certification.  If the administrator applicant has previously completed 

and can provide documentation of completing the 120-hour AIT program from one of the approved program providers, 

then that requirement would not need to be met again. 

 Grandfathered administrators who are certified and licensed North Carolina nursing home administrators, who allow 

their certification to lapse, will also be required to submit all requirements for certification.   NOTE:  This would 

include documentation of the college coursework requirement and 120-hour AIT program in assisted living from 

an approved program provider. 

 There are no exemptions from the AIT program requirement for administrator certification regardless of education, 

background, or other professional licenses and certifications. 

 

Questions/Comments  
  

 ACLS will be developing a procedure and reporting document as it pertains to certified administrators under 10A NCAC 

13F .1702 (a)(8). 

 Questions may be addressed to dhsr.adultcare.questions@lists.ncmail.net 

 Please remember to notify our office if your address or other contact information changes to ensure receipt of future 

administrator correspondence.   

 

cc:   County Department of Social Services:  Directors, Adult Service Supervisors, Adult Home Specialists 

 Licensed Adult Care Home Facilities 

 Administrator-in-Training Program Providers 

 

Attachments 
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