The Dr. George Johnson Jr. Award

Coerciew: This award is made in the name of the EMS Advisory Council to persons who have made significant long-term contributions to Emergency Medical Services in North Carolina. Nominations may be made by anyone and should be forwarded directly to the attention of Ms. Julie Starr at julie.starr@dhhs.nc.gov who will then forward them to the Committee members for review.

Intent: It is the desire and intent of the EMS Advisory Council that this award is for life long service and achievement(s). Specifically, those that directly result in substantial impact or changes in the manner in which EMS is delivered, EMS personnel are educated, or EMS systems are designed or in the state or nation. It is not meant to recognize a specific act, or accomplishment, longevity or contribution outside EMS. A recipient need not be a state resident; however, the award is for service to EMS in North Carolina and the recipient's service and achievement(s) must have significant impact on EMS in North Carolina. More than one award may be presented in a given year. Likewise, there may be years in which no award is presented.

Application Procedure: The nomination of an individual for this award shall be made, in writing, at any time during the year. Nominations must be received by **June 30**th to be considered for award during that year.

The application shall contain, at a minimum, the following information:

- 1. The full name, address, telephone number and Email address (if available) of the nominee.
- 2. The full name, address, telephone number and Email address (if available) of the person(s) making the nomination.
- 3. A written narrative outlining the contributions of the individual to EMS in North Carolina and the time period these contributions cover.

Awards Committee: An Awards Committee is established by the EMS Advisory Council to review nominations. The majority membership of such a committee shall be members of the Council. Others may be added in either a full membership or ad hoc capacity, as the Council deems appropriate.

Committee Recommendations: The Committee will make an annual recommendation to the August meeting of the Council of a person or persons deemed appropriate for such an award. Nominees approved by the Council will be invited to the Emergency Medicine Today Conference following the August meeting and will be presented the award(s) at the conference's annual banquet.

Committee Members: The present members of the Awards Committee are:

F. Wayne Ashworth, Post Office Box 882, Salisbury, NC 28145-0882. Telephone 704.633.9330. Email ncs0071@earthlink.net

Bob Bailey, MA 10605 Hanarry Court, Raleigh NC 27614. Telephone 919.847-3650. Email bob.bailey16@gmail.com

Regina Godette-Crawford, Chief, NC Office of EMS, 2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-2707. Telephone 919.855-3950. Email: regina.godette@dhhs.nc.gov

Nicholas H. Benson, M.D., M.B.A., F.A.C.E.P., Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27834. Telephone 252.744.7400. Email bensonni@ecu.edu