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Introduction

In April 2020, the North Carolina Medical Care Commission, in accordance with General Statute 150B-
21.1A(b), adopted an emergency rule amendment and simultaneously proposed a temporary rule
amendment for 10A NCAC 130 .0301 Nurse Aide | Training and Competency Evaluation due to the
serious and unforeseen threat to the public health and safety by the COVID-19 virus. The emergency
amendment, that became effective April 26, 2020, allowed reciprocity for out-of-state nurse aides who
are active and in good standing on another State’s nurse aide registry, waiving the state’s competency
examination. The temporary rule amendment that continued allowing reciprocity became effective
June 26, 2020.

This rule proposes to make permanent the amendments to the rule allowing reciprocity for out-of-state
nurse aides who are active and in good standing on another State’s nurse aide registry. Thus, reciprocity
will directly benefit the citizens of North Carolina during the COVID-19 crisis and in the future as the
population continues to grow and as more citizens are over the age of 65 and receive care in Skilled
Nursing Facilities (SNFs) and Nursing Facilities (NFs).

Background and Purpose

Nurse aides augment the care nurses provide by performing routine duties of caring for patients or
residents under the direction of a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse. Federal law requires
states to confirm and register nurse aides who provide care in nursing homes. This confirmation and
registration is obtained through a state-approved nurse aide training program and a state-approved
competency examination.

North Carolina’s population is growing and aging. In 2019, North Carolina had an estimated population
of approximately 10.5 million people. In addition, approximately 16.5.% of individuals were aged 65 or



over. By 2038, North Carolina is projected to have a population of 12.9 million people. Between years
2019 and 2038, the population aged 65 and over is projected to grow at a rate of more than 2.5 times
faster than the total population. By 2038, projections indicate that 21% of the population will be aged 65
and over.!

Every two years, in conjunction with the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the North Carolina Department
of Commerce publishes a 10-year industry and occupation employment projections for statewide and
sub-state areas. It is predicted that by 2026, the Healthcare Support Occupations group will be one of
the fastest growing occupational groups in North Carolina with an annualized growth rate of 1.9%. The
Healthcare Support Occupations group includes healthcare aides, assistants, etc. Table 1 depicts the
employment estimate in 2017 and 2026 for the Health Care Support Occupations group.?

Table 1
Occupational | Employment | Employment Net Percent Annualized 2017
Group Estimate Estimate Change Change Growth Annual
2017 2026 Rate Median
Wage
Healthcare 154,974 183,303 29,329 18.9% 1.9% $25,420
Support
Occupations

Mercer, a global health care staffing consultancy, conducted a labor market analysis and projected that
the US will likely face a shortage of 95,000 nursing assistants in 2020.3 Table 2 depicts the North Carolina
Department of Commerce’s projected average annual openings for the Healthcare Support Occupations
group from years 2017 to 2026.2

Table 2
Average Annual Openings Number of Positions
Due to Occupational Separations 18,883
Due to Growth 3,259

On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No.116, declared a state
of emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective measures to help prevent the spread of
COVID-19. The COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or death. The World
Health Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention and the United States Department
of Health and Human Services declared COVID-19 a public health emergency. In conjunction with
government guidance, on March 16, 2020, the state-approved nurse aide | competency exam vendor,
NCS Pearson, Inc. d/b/a Pearson VUE, suspended all nurse aide competency examinations in North
Carolina until conditions were deemed safe to re-open.

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, the Center for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) waived 42 CFR
§483.35(d), except for 42 CFR §483.35(d)(1)(i)), so that they do not present barriers for skilled nursing
facilities (SNFs) or nursing facilities (NFs) to provide adequate levels of staffing for the duration of the
COVID-19 pandemic. Included in the waiver was 42 CFR §483.35(d)(1)(ii)(A) which references the
requirement that a facility must not use an individual working in the facility as a nurse aide for more

1 OSBM population estimates and projections: https://www.osbm.nc.gov/demog/county-projections

2 NC Department of Commerce — Labor & Economic Analysis Division:
https://files.nc.gov/nccommerce/documents/LEAD/Projections/2026_NC_Employment_Projections_Summary.pdf
3 CNN Business: https://money.cnn.com/2018/05/04/news/economy/health-care-workers-shortage/index.html



than 4 months, on a full-time basis, unless the individual has completed a training and competency
evaluation program approved the by the State.

Prior to COVID-19, states and health care providers were reporting a shortage of nurse aides. In a report
to Congress, CMS determined that 2.4 nurse aide staffing hours per resident per day provided the most
impact on short-stay quality outcomes related to hospital transfers for potentially avoidable causes (e.g.,
urinary tract infections, sepsis, electrolyte imbalance). In addition, CMS determined that 2.8 nurse aide
staffing hours per resident per day provided the most impact on long-stay quality outcomes (e.g.,
functional improvement, incidence of pressure sores, incidence of skin trauma, resisting care
improvement and weight loss).* Overall, an overwhelming majority of North Carolina’s skilled nursing
facilities do not meet the recommended nurse aide staffing hours per resident per day threshold (Table
3 and Table 4).> The average nurse aide staffing hours per resident per day in North Carolina is 2.17.°

Table 3
State The Percentage of Skilled Nursing Facilities Below the N Value
2.4 Nurse Aide Staffing Hours Per Resident Per Day

Threshold
us 62% 9,213
NC 78% 319
GA 87% 305
SC 66% 117
TN 87% 270
VA 82% 230

Table 4
State The Percentage of Skilled Nursing Facilities Below the N Value
2.8 Nurse Aide Staffing Hours Per Resident Per Day

Threshold
us 84% 9,213
NC 90% 319
GA 96% 305
SC 83% 117
TN 96% 270
VA 90% 230

Description of Proposed Rule

By implementing reciprocity, North Carolina will recognize the validity of other State nurse aide
registries. An out-of-state nurse aide, provided they meet the criteria listed below, will no longer be
required to complete the North Carolina nurse aide | competency examination in order to be listed on
the North Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry. The current competency examination includes both a written
(or oral) examination and a skills evaluation. An individual must pass both components of the
examination to be listed on the North Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry.

4 Congressional Report:

https://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/elderjustice/legacy/2015/07/12/Appropriateness_of Minimum_Nurse_Staffing_Ratios_in_Nursing
_Homes.pdf

5 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: Nursing Home Compare data analyzed on May 1, 2020



The following reciprocity criteria must be met for an out-of-state nurse aide to be listed on the North
Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry.

e The applicant must submit a complete reciprocity application.

e The applicant must be listed on another State’s registry of nurse aides as active and in good
standing.

e The applicant has no pending or substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or
misappropriation of resident or patient property recorded on other State registries of nurse
aides.

e if the applicant has been employed as a nurse aide for monetary compensation consisting of at
least a total of eight hours of time worked performing nursing or nursing-related tasks delegated
and supervised by a Registered Nurse, then the applicant shall provide the employer name,
employer address, and dates of employment for the previous 24 consecutive months.

e The name listed on an applicant’s Social Security card and unexpired government-issued
identification containing a photograph and signature submitted with the application must match
the name listed on another State’s registry of nurse aides or that the applicant has submitted
additional documentation verifying any name changes.

e The applicant completed a State-approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation
program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 483.152 or a State-approved competency
evaluation program that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 483.154.

Impact Analysis

By allowing reciprocity, the agency expects to reduce costs and turnaround times for out-of-state nurse
aides seeking work in North Carolina. In addition, reciprocity could increase the number of out-of-state
applicants seeking approval to work in North Carolina compared to the past three years, but the extent
of this effect is uncertain. Compared to current rules, reciprocity may help to address nurse aide
staffing needs but waiving the competency exam also increases the potential risk to residents and
patients.

Out-of-State Nurse Aides

Under current rules, out-of-state nurse aides must pass the North Carolina nurse aide | competency
examination. The fee to complete both the written (or oral) examination and skills evaluation is $120.
An individual continues to pay an examination fee each time they do not pass a component of the exam.
An out-of-state nurse aide has three opportunities to complete and pass the examination before they
are required to retake nurse aide training. Table 5 depicts the fees associated with the North Carolina
nurse aide | competency examination.®

Table 5*
Examination Type Fee
Written Examination and Skills Evaluation $120
Oral (English or Spanish) Examination & Skills Evaluation $120
Written Examination Only (re-test) S30
Oral (English or Spanish) Examination Only (re-test) $30
Skills Evaluation Only (re-test) $90

* The first time an individual takes the competency examination, they must complete
both the written (or oral) examination and the skills evaluation.

6 Fees are associated with NCS Pearson, Inc. d/b/a Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE is the state-approved nurse aide | competency evaluation
program vendor



Reciprocity waives the competency examination requirement to be listed on the North Carolina Nurse
Aide | Registry and therefore the associated fees that must be incurred by an out-of-state nurse aide.
Table 6 indicates that in each of the last three years, at minimum, approximately 700 out-of-state nurse
aides were approved by the agency to take the North Carolina nurse aide | competency examination in
order to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry. If the trend continues, the total savings to out-of-
state nurse aides is a minimum of $84,000.

Table 6*
Calendar The Total Number of The Number of Training The Percentage of Total
Year Training Waivers Waivers Approved from Out- Training Waivers
Approved by the of-State Nurse Aides to Take Approved from Out-of-
Agency the Competency Examination State Nurse Aides
in North Carolina
2017 1520 900 59%
2018 1365 800 59%
2019 1300 700 54%

*Approximations

Reciprocity expedites the timeframe by at least 12 days for an out-of-state nurse aide to be listed on the
NC Nurse Aide | Registry and thus supports healthcare facilities in the ability to fill nurse aide vacancies
sooner. Prior to reciprocity, out-of-state nurse aides were required to apply for a training waiver in
order to not have to complete the state-approved nurse aide training in North Carolina. On average,
each training waiver application is reviewed by the agency within two or three business days. Once the
waiver application is approved, then the agency notifies the state-approved competency examination
vendor so that the out-of-state nurse aide can register and select a date to take the competency
examination. Out-of-state nurse aides can register within approximately two days of agency approval
but must wait an additional 12 days to take the exam so that the state-approved competency
examination vendor can ensure adequate examination personnel and testing materials are at each test
site. In some instances, an out-of-state nurse aide may have to wait beyond the 12 days depending on
the availability of test dates.

Healthcare Facilities and Clients

According to a report published in 2002 by the Office of Inspector General, nurse aides care for between
10-15 nursing home residents per shift and find it difficult to deliver quality care to all residents
entrusted to them, especially when positions remain unfilled.” Therefore, reciprocity does address the
nurse aide staffing shortage in North Carolina. However, reciprocity may increase the risk to clients and
place an additional burden on healthcare facilities for on-the-job training since approximately 66% of
out-of-state nurse aides do not pass the nurse aide | competency examination the first time. Assuming
applicant trends continue, over 450 out of state nurse aide applicants fail their competency exam
annually; these applicants would be added to North Carolina’s Registry under reciprocity.®

Tables 7 indicates that approximately 33% of out-of-state nurse aides successfully passed the North
Carolina nurse aide | competency examination the first time. Table 8 depicts the number of out-of-state
nurse aides that took the competency examination more than once and passed.?

7 Office of Inspector General: https://oig.hhs.gov/oei/reports/oei-05-01-00030.pdf
8 Data provided by NCS Pearson, Inc. d/b/a Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE is the state-approved nurse aide | competency evaluation program
vendor.



Table 7*

Fiscal Year

Written (Or Oral)

Skills Evaluation

Passed Both

Examination Examination Examinations
Passed Passed
July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 483 137 135
July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 430 137 134
July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 399 159 156

*First time test takers only

Table 8*
Fiscal Year Written (Or Oral) Skills Evaluation
Examination Examination
Passed Passed
July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017 19 75
July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 12 72
July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 11 76

*Repeat test takers only

To ensure the safety of those receiving care by nurse aides, the North Carolina Board of Nursing has
determined the nursing tasks which can be performed by nurse aides in North Carolina. In addition, the
North Carolina Board of Nursing requires that a registered nurse validate the competencies of each
nurse aide prior to delegating nursing tasks. Ultimately, a licensed nurse maintains accountability and
responsibility for the delivery of safe and competence care. The licensed nurse must monitor the
client’s status and response to care provided on an ongoing basis.’

Decisions regarding the delegation of tasks to nurse aides are made by the licensed nurse on a case-by-
case basis. All the following criteria must be met before delegation of any task can occur:®
e The task is performed frequently in the daily care of a client or group of clients
e The task is performed according to an established sequence of steps.
o The task involves little to no modification from one client situation to another.
e The task may be performed with a predictable outcome.
o The task does not involve on-going assessment, interpretation or decision-making that cannot
be separated from the task itself.
e The task does not endanger the client’s life or well-being.

Division of Health Service Regulation (DHSR)

From April 20, 2020 to June 20, 2020, DHSR received 788 reciprocity applications.

e 368 applications were approved

e 27 applications were denied

e 374 applications were deemed incomplete
e 19 applications had a pending status

DHSR receives approximately 20 reciprocity applications per business day. If this trend continues, DHSR
will receive approximately 5,000 reciprocity applications annually.

9 North Carolina Board of Nursing: https://www.ncbon.com/vdownloads/nurse-aide/nurse-aide-i-tasks-2010-revisions.pdf




The amount of time needed by staff to process each reciprocity application is approximately 60 minutes.
Staffing costs are approximately $27 per hour including wages and benefits. The total estimated annual
cost for DHSR staff to process 5,000 reciprocity applications is $135,000.

The average number of days from when DHSR receives a reciprocity application to when DHSR notifies
the applicant of the agency’s decision is approximately 4 business days. This timeframe is in alignment
with other states.
e Georgia: 14 business days
e Missouri: 7-10 days
Montana: 5-7 days
Nebraska: 30 days
e Rhode Island: a minimum of 8 weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed
e Tennessee: 1 week
e Virginia: 30-45 business days

The permanent rule allows DHSR 10 business days to process a reciprocity application. Currently,
DHSR’s processing rate is 4 business days. According to the graph below, the number of reciprocity
applications received from April 20, 2020 to June 28, 2020 has increased each month. The rule currently
allows for adequate processing time. However, if the number of applications continues to increase
exponentially, DHSR will need additional staff to meet the 10-business day timeframe.

Total Reciprocity Applications Received by DHSR
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Summary

Overall, North Carolina should implement reciprocity not only during the COVID-19 pandemic but seek
to make reciprocity a permanent rule in year 2021. As the population in North Carolina continues to
increase, specifically regarding individuals aged 65 and older, North Carolina will likely experience an
annual nurse aide staffing shortage due to either occupational separations or occupational growth.?
As vacancies regarding nurse aide positions in nursing homes increase, it becomes even more
challenging for existing nurse aides to deliver quality of care to all residents entrusted to them.!!

Reciprocity aims to reduce the nurse aide shortage in North Carolina. By implementing reciprocity, the
requirement for all out-of-state nurse aides, in active and good standing status, to take the nurse aide |
competency examination in order to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry is no longer required. In
addition, reciprocity eliminates the financial burden for out-of-state nurse aides to pay at least $120 to

10 NC Department of Commerce — Labor & Economic Analysis Division:
https://files.nc.gov/nccommerce/documents/LEAD/Projections/2026_NC_Employment_Projections_Summary.pdf
11 Office of Inspector General: https://oig.hhs.gov/oei/reports/oei-05-01-00030.pdf



take the nurse aide | competency examination. Furthermore, reciprocity expedites the timeframe by at
least 12 days for an out-of-state nurse aide to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry and thus
supports healthcare facilities in the ability to fill nurse aide vacancies sooner.

However, reciprocity may increase the risk to clients and place an additional burden on healthcare
facilities for on-the-job training. Assuming applicant trends continue, approximately 66% of out-of-state
nurse aide applicants fail the competency examination annually; these applicants would be added to the
North Carolina Nurse Aide | Registry under reciprocity.*?

The overall estimated projected annual cost to DHSR to implement reciprocity is $135,000. Since the
implementation of reciprocity in April 2020, as an emergency rule and temporary rule, DHSR has
received approximately 20 reciprocity applications per business day. Of the applications received,
approximately 50% are approved. Thus, if this trend continues, reciprocity has the potential to add
more than 2,000 nurse aides annually to help alleviate the nurse aide shortage in North Carolina.

12 Data provided by NCS Pearson, Inc. d/b/a Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE is the state-approved nurse aide | competency evaluation program
vendor.



Appendix: Proposed Rule Text

10A NCAC 130 .0301 is proposed for amendment as follows:

SECTION .0300 - NURSE AIDE | REGISTRY

10A NCAC 130 .0301 NURSE AIDE | TRAINING AND COMPETENCY EVALUATION
(@) To be eligible to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry by the Health Care Personnel Education and
Credentialing Section, a person shall shall:
Q) pass a Nurse Aide | training program approved by the Department in accordance with 42 CFR Part
483.151 through Part 42 CFR 483.152 and the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency

exam: exam,; or

(2) apply to the Department for approval to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry by reciprocity of

a nurse aide certification or registration from another State to North Carolina.

(b) In applying for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or registration to be listed on the NC Nurse Aide | Registry

pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, the applicant shall:

@ submit a completed application to the Department that includes the following:

first, middle, and last name;

the applicant’s prior name(s), if any;

mother’s maiden name;
gender;

social security number;
date of birth;

mailing address;
email address;

home telephone number;

any other State registries of nurse aides upon which the applicant is listed;

REEEPRPRERED

certification or registration numbers for any State nurse aide registries identified in Part
(b)(1)(J) of this Rule;

(L) original issue dates for any certifications or registrations identified in Part (b)(1)(K) of this
Rule;
(M) expiration dates for any certifications or registrations identified in Part (b)(1)(K) of this
Rule; and
(N) employment history;
(2) provide documentation verifying that his or her registry listing is active and in good standing in the

State(s) of reciprocity, dated no older than 30 calendar days prior to the date the application is

received by the Department; and

3) provide a copy of his or her Social Security card and an unexpired government-issued identification

containing a photograph and signature.




(c)_For the applicant to be approved for reciprocity of a nurse aide certification or registration and be listed on the NC

Nurse Aide | Reqistry, the Department shall verify the following:

Q) the applicant has completed an application in accordance with Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule;

2 the applicant is listed on another State’s registry of nurse aides as active and in good standing;

3) the applicant has no pending or substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or

misappropriation of resident or patient property recorded on other State reqgistries of nurse aides;

4 if the applicant has been employed as a nurse aide for monetary compensation consisting of at least

a total of eight hours of time worked performing nursing or nursing-related tasks delegated and

supervised by a Registered Nurse, then the applicant shall provide the employer name, employer

address, and dates of employment for the previous 24 consecutive months;

(5) the name listed on the Social Security card and government-issued identification containing a

photograph and signature submitted with the application matches the name listed on another State’s

reqistry of nurse aides or that the applicant has submitted additional documentation verifying any

name changes; and

(6) the applicant completed a State-approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation program

that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 483.152 or a State-approved competency evaluation program
that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 483.154.

(d) The Department shall within 10 business days of receipt of an application for reciprocity of a nurse aide

certification or registration or receipt of additional information from the applicant:

@ inform the applicant by letter whether he or she has been approved; or

2 request additional information from the applicant.

The applicant shall be added to the NC Nurse Aide | Registry within three business days of Department approval.

{b} (e) This Rule incorporates 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart D by reference, including all subsequent amendments and
editions. Copies of the Code of Federal Regulations may be accessed electronically free of charge from
www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR.

{e) (f) The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam shall include each course requirement specified
in the Department-approved Nurse Aide I training program as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.152.

{&) (1) The State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam shall be administered and evaluated only by the
Department or its contracted testing agent as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154.

{e)} (h) The Department shall include a record of completion of the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency
exam in the NC Nurse Aide | Registry within 30 business days of passing the written or oral exam and the skills
demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154.

£ (i) If the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam candidate does not pass the written or oral exam
and the skills demonstration as provided for in 42 CFR Part 483.154, the candidate shall be advised by the Department
of the areas that the individual did not pass.

{g) (1) Every North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam candidate shall have,asprovided-for-in42 CFR Part

483.154; have the opportunity to take the exam at maximum three times before being required to retake and pass a

Nurse Aide | training program.




) (k) U.S. military personnel who have completed medical corpsman training and retired or non-practicing nurses

shall not be required to take the Department-approved Nurse Aide I training program to be listed or relisted on the
Nurse Aide | Registry, unless the person fails to pass the State of North Carolina's Nurse Aide | competency exam

after three attempts.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-255; 42 CFR Part-483; 483.150; 42 CFR 483.151; 42 CFR 483 .152; 42 CFR
483.154; 42 CFR 483.156; 42 CFR 483.158;
Eff. January 1, 2016;
Emergency Amendment Eff. April 20, 2020;
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020- 2020;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2021.




