1	10A NCAC 13P .0512 is proposed for amendment as follows:		
2			
3	10A NCAC 13	P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED EMS CREDENTIAL	
4	(a) EMS perso	onnel enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing education program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this	
5	Subchapter and that who was eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to expiration, may request the EMS		
6	educational institution submit documentation of the continuing education record to the OEMS. OEMS shall renew		
7	the EMS credential to be valid for four years from the previous expiration date.		
8	(b) An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is eligible for reinstatement through the legal		
9	recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section.		
10	(c) EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 24 12 months,		
11	shall:		
12	(1)	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c);	
13	(2)	be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider;	
14	(3)	at the time of application, present evidence that renewal education requirements were met prior to	
15		expiration or complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following expiration of	
16		the credential;	
17	(4)	EMRs and EMTs shall complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individual's	
18		level of credential application;	
19	(5)	undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and	
20	(6)	submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or	
21		felony conviction(s).	
22	(d) EMR and EMT applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 24 months, must:		
23	<del>(1)</del>	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and	
24	<del>(2)</del>	meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section	
25	(e) AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed between 24 and 48 months, shall		
26	<del>(1)</del>	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c);	
27	<del>(2)</del>	be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider;	
28	<del>(3)</del>	present evidence of completion of a refresher course at the level of application taken following	
29		expiration of the credential;	
30	<del>(4)</del>	complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individuals level of credential	
31		application;	
32	<del>(5)</del>	undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and	
33	<del>(6)</del>	submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or	
34		felony conviction(s).	
35	(f)(d) AEMT EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more		
36	than 48 12 months, shall:		

be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and

37

(1)

1	(2)	meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section.
2	(e) EMT, AEM	MT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor Credential, lapsed up to 12
3	months, shall:	
4	<u>(1)</u>	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c);
5	<u>(2)</u>	be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; and
6	<u>(3)</u>	at the time of application, present evidence that renewal requirements were met prior to expiration
7		or within six months following the expiration of the Instructor credential.
8	(f) EMT, AEM	T, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor credential, lapsed greater than 12
9	months, shall:	
10	<u>(1)</u>	be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and
11	<u>(2)</u>	meet the requirements for initial Instructor credentialing set forth in Rules .0507 and .0508 of this
12		Section. Degree requirements that were not applicable to EMS Instructors initially credentialed
13		prior to July 1, 2021 shall be required for reinstatement of a lapsed credential.
14	(g) EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting the requirements for initial credentialing set forth it	
15	Rule .0502 of this Section.	
16	(h) Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue or renew an EMS credential for any person listed	
17	on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offens	
18	that would have required registration if committed at a time when registration would have been required by law.	
19		
20	History Note:	Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952;
21		Eff. January 1, <del>2017.</del> <u>2017:</u>
22		Amended Eff. July 1, 2021.