| 1 | 10A NCAC 13P .0512 is amended with changes as published in 35:12 NCR 1350-1369 as follows: | | |
|----|---|---|--|
| 2 | | | |
| 3 | 10A NCAC 13 | P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED EMS CREDENTIAL | |
| 4 | (a) EMS perso | nnel enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing education program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this | |
| 5 | Subchapter and that who was were eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to expiration, may request the EMS | | |
| 6 | educational institution submit documentation of the continuing education record to the OEMS. OEMS shall renew | | |
| 7 | the EMS credential to be valid for four years from the previous expiration date. | | |
| 8 | (b) An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is eligible for reinstatement through the legal | | |
| 9 | recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section. | | |
| 10 | (c) EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 24 [12] 36 | | |
| 11 | months, shall: | | |
| 12 | (1) | be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); | |
| 13 | (2) | be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; | |
| 14 | (3) | at the time of application, present evidence that renewal education requirements were met prior to | |
| 15 | | expiration or complete a refresher course at the level of application taken following expiration of | |
| 16 | | the credential; | |
| 17 | (4) | EMRs and EMTs shall complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individual's | |
| 18 | | level of credential application; | |
| 19 | (5) | undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and | |
| 20 | (6) | submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or | |
| 21 | | felony conviction(s). | |
| 22 | (d) EMR and EMT applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 24 months, must: | | |
| 23 | (1) | be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and | |
| 24 | (2) | meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section | |
| 25 | (e) AEMT and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed between 24 and 48 months, shall | | |
| 26 | (1) | be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); | |
| 27 | (2) | be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; | |
| 28 | (3) | present evidence of completion of a refresher course at the level of application taken following | |
| 29 | | expiration of the credential; | |
| 30 | (4) | complete an OEMS administered written examination for the individuals level of credential | |
| 31 | | application; | |
| 32 | (5) | undergo a criminal history check performed by the OEMS; and | |
| 33 | (6) | submit evidence of completion of all court conditions resulting from applicable misdemeanor or | |
| 34 | | felony conviction(s). | |
| 35 | (f)(d) AEMT EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more | | |
| 36 | than 48 [<mark>12] 36</mark> months, shall: | | |

be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and

37

(1)

| 1 | (2) | meet the provisions for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of this Section. | |
|----|---|---|--|
| 2 | (e) EMT, AEM | 1T, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor Credential, lapsed up to 12 | |
| 3 | months, shall: | | |
| 4 | <u>(1)</u> | be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c): | |
| 5 | <u>(2)</u> | be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with a North Carolina EMS Provider; and | |
| 6 | <u>(3)</u> | at the time of application, present evidence that renewal requirements were met prior to expiration | |
| 7 | | or within six months following the expiration of the Instructor credential. | |
| 8 | (f) EMT, AEM | Γ, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of an EMS Instructor credential, lapsed greater than 12 | |
| 9 | months, shall: | | |
| 10 | <u>(1)</u> | be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c); and | |
| 11 | <u>(2)</u> | meet the requirements for initial Instructor credentialing set forth in Rules .0507 and .0508 of this | |
| 12 | | Section. Degree requirements that were not applicable to EMS Instructors initially credentialed | |
| 13 | | prior to July 1, 2021 shall be required for reinstatement of a lapsed credential. | |
| 14 | (g) EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in | | |
| 15 | Rule .0502 of this Section. | | |
| 16 | (h) Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue or renew an EMS credential for any person listed | | |
| 17 | on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense | | |
| 18 | that would have required registration if committed at a time when registration would have been required by law. | | |
| 19 | | | |
| 20 | History Note: | Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952; | |
| 21 | | Eff. January 1, 2017. <u>2017:</u> | |
| 22 | | Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. | |